Change Munge Platform?

Post everything from general questions, to modding questions, to map WIPs to releases. (SWBF1 only)

Moderator: Moderators

Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:47 am
Location: Starkiller Base
Projects :: Godzilla Save The Earth Mods
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF1 SWBF2 SWBFDICE
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Change Munge Platform?

Postby DylanRocket » Sun Feb 28, 2016 10:30 pm

Is it possible to change the munge platform to Xbox or PS2 for SWBF1? I know it's possible for SWBF2 by editing munge.bat, but I'm not sure how to do it with the SWBF1 mod tools.

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:55 pm
Location: San Diego
Projects :: SWBF2 PSP+PS2 Conversion

Re: Change Munge Platform?

Postby AnthonyBF2 » Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:33 am

You could setup SWBF assets as if they were SWBF2 assets and use Battlefront 2 mod tools to munge them, with a different munge platform parameter.

Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:47 am
Location: Starkiller Base
Projects :: Godzilla Save The Earth Mods
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF1 SWBF2 SWBFDICE
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Change Munge Platform?

Postby DylanRocket » Mon Feb 29, 2016 7:50 am

Would they be compatible with SWBF1 though?

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:55 pm
Location: San Diego
Projects :: SWBF2 PSP+PS2 Conversion

Re: Change Munge Platform?

Postby AnthonyBF2 » Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:46 am

I can't say, wait for some veterans to chime in. :wink:

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 10833
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Change Munge Platform?

Postby Teancum » Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:49 am

Unfortunately not. All of the programs have been updated for SWBF2.

What you can do is go into your /BFBuilder directory (or whatever you call your mod tools folder), and open every .bat file with Notepad and change every instance of platform pc to platform ps2 or platform xbox. That will tell all the munge programs to run it for either PS2 or Xbox, respectively. But remember you have ZERO debugging on PS2 or Xbox, so I suggest simple tests first, like munging Mos Eisley with no changes, replacing the original file (be sure to back it up) and seeing if it works.

Droid Pilot Assassin
User avatar
Posts: 1968
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:58 pm
Projects :: Star Wars Battlefront Legacy

Re: Change Munge Platform?

Postby ggctuk » Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:43 pm

IIRC you'd have to be careful as some levels don't like being modified on a PC and will randomly crashed if modified in any way.

Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:47 am
Location: Starkiller Base
Projects :: Godzilla Save The Earth Mods
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF1 SWBF2 SWBFDICE
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Change Munge Platform?

Postby DylanRocket » Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:03 pm

Teancum wrote:Unfortunately not. All of the programs have been updated for SWBF2.

What you can do is go into your /BFBuilder directory (or whatever you call your mod tools folder), and open every .bat file with Notepad and change every instance of platform pc to platform ps2 or platform xbox. That will tell all the munge programs to run it for either PS2 or Xbox, respectively. But remember you have ZERO debugging on PS2 or Xbox, so I suggest simple tests first, like munging Mos Eisley with no changes, replacing the original file (be sure to back it up) and seeing if it works.


I'll try that, thanks!

After testing this, it seems that the remunged Mos Eisley works fine (although the terrain is very bright) but Naboo Prototype crashes mid-load. I also can't create a new shell so at the moment I'm just replacing maps.

EDIT: It appears that new maps do work without any graphical errors. I just successfully converted Sereja's Dagobah SWBF2 map and it works without any graphic glitches. This is all being tested on emulator, but should work on modded PS2s. Going to test new sides next.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 10833
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Change Munge Platform?

Postby Teancum » Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:44 pm

DylanRocket wrote:
Teancum wrote:Unfortunately not. All of the programs have been updated for SWBF2.

What you can do is go into your /BFBuilder directory (or whatever you call your mod tools folder), and open every .bat file with Notepad and change every instance of platform pc to platform ps2 or platform xbox. That will tell all the munge programs to run it for either PS2 or Xbox, respectively. But remember you have ZERO debugging on PS2 or Xbox, so I suggest simple tests first, like munging Mos Eisley with no changes, replacing the original file (be sure to back it up) and seeing if it works.


I'll try that, thanks!

After testing this, it seems that the remunged Mos Eisley works fine (although the terrain is very bright) but Naboo Prototype crashes mid-load. I also can't create a new shell so at the moment I'm just replacing maps.

EDIT: It appears that new maps do work without any graphical errors. I just successfully converted Sereja's Dagobah SWBF2 map and it works without any graphic glitches. This is all being tested on emulator, but should work on modded PS2s. Going to test new sides next.

Probably obvious, but make sure Naboo Prototype works on the PC using your setup. If it does then the next thing I'd try is to manually resize some of the textures (I do this sometimes to optimize things on Xbox)

Return to All things SWBF1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests