Modify textures for units?

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Modify textures for units?

Post by Indytotof »

Hello modders and mappers, here is Indytotof.

I've a little question: I want to change the head, torso and arms textures from the stock Darth Maul .tga by the head, the torso and arms of a Cyber Maul I download here (and I've reskinned for the needs of my custom unit).

There is the .odf of my unit:
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code][GameObjectClass]
ClassParent = "com_jedi_default"
GeometryName = "cis_inf_darthmaul.msh"

[Properties]
AISizeType = "hover"

ClothODF = "all_inf_leia_skirt"
GeometryName = "cis_inf_darthmaul"
GeometryLowRes = "cis_inf_darthmaul_low1"
AnimationName = "maul"
SkeletonRootScale = "1.25"


JetJump = "10.0" //The initial jump-push given when enabling the jet
JetPush = "0.0" //The constant push given while the jet is enabled (20 is gravity)
JetAcceleration = "10.0" // for characters with jet jump, use this acceleration for in air control
JetEffect = ""
JetFuelRechargeRate = "0.0" //Additional fuel per second (fuel is 0 to 1)
JetFuelCost = "0.0" //Cost per second when hovering (only used for jet-hovers)(fuel is 0 to 1)
JetFuelInitialCost = "0.0" //4initial cost when jet jumping(fuel is 0 to 1)
JetFuelMinBorder = "0.0" //minimum fuel to perform a jet jump(fuel is 0 to 1)
JetShowHud = 0
JetEnergyDrain = 40.0

CollisionScale = "0.0 0.0 0.0" // don't take damage from collisions

WeaponName1 = "cis_weap_doublesaber"
WeaponAmmo1 = 0

WeaponName2 = "com_weap_inf_sabre_throw"
WeaponAmmo2 = 0
WeaponChannel2 = 1

WeaponName3 = "com_weap_inf_force_fuzzle"
WeaponAmmo3 = 0
WeaponChannel3 = 1

//SOUND
SndHeroSelectable = ""
SndHeroSpawned = ""
SndHeroDefeated = ""
SndHeroKiller = ""

VOSound = "cis_off_response_hero_command SC_Follow"
VOSound = "cis_off_response_hero_command SC_StopFollow"
VOSound = "cis_off_response_hero_command SC_VehicleWaitUp"
VOSound = "cis_off_response_hero_command SC_GetIn"
VOSound = "cis_off_response_hero_command SC_GetOut"

VOSound = ""
VOSound = ""

VOUnitType = 196
SoldierMusic = "cis_hero_Maul_lp"
HurtSound = ""
DeathSound = ""
AcquiredTargetSound = ""
HidingSound = ""
ApproachingTargetSound = ""
FleeSound = ""
PreparingForDamageSound = ""
HeardEnemySound = ""
//ShockFadeOutTime = "0.8"
//ShockFadeInTime = "2.0"
ShockFadeOutGain = ""
ShockSound = ""
ClothingRustleSound = ""
//LowHealthSound = "com_inf_saber_ambient"
LowHealthThreshold = "1.1"
FoleyFXClass = "cis_inf_soldier"[/code]
What I've to do with the odf to override textures successfully ?

Thanks.
Last edited by Indytotof on Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
commanderawesome
Field Commander
Field Commander
Posts: 970
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:58 pm
Projects :: Skin Changer - Warfront - Other stuff
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF SWTOR KotOR EaW
xbox live or psn: AaTc_CmdrAwesome
Location: The Universe

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by commanderawesome »

Add this right after GeometryLowRes:
OverrideTexture = "your_new_texture.tga"

Please note that this does not work with all models.
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

I want to override a stock jedi's textures by a reskinned ep3trooper textures with the command that commanderawesome posted.

Did that will worked ?
User avatar
commanderawesome
Field Commander
Field Commander
Posts: 970
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:58 pm
Projects :: Skin Changer - Warfront - Other stuff
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF SWTOR KotOR EaW
xbox live or psn: AaTc_CmdrAwesome
Location: The Universe

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by commanderawesome »

Technically, yes, but it will look really weird, because the two textures are mapped differently, and even if they weren't, why would you want a clone trooper texture on a Jedi model?
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

commanderawesome wrote:Technically, yes, but it will look really weird, because the two textures are mapped differently, and even if they weren't, why would you want a clone trooper texture on a Jedi model?
Because of him (and use him with standard clones .msh will retextures clones and I don't want that):
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
User avatar
Kingpin
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1096
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:09 pm
Projects :: The Sith Wars II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Kingpin »

Why just not use a normal clone that has been remapped and skin one hand blue?
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

Kingpin wrote:Why just not use a normal clone that has been remapped and skin one hand blue?
OK and how to remapped a clone ?

Did I can reskinned another arm in blue on another clone's skin and override the texture of one of the jek-14's arm with it using "OverrideTexture ="whatevertextureis.tga" ?

Thanks for your help.
User avatar
willinator
Major
Major
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:11 pm
Projects :: [Coming of the Sentinels]
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 Minecraft Halo
xbox live or psn: PC pwns all!
Location: The rings of Saturn...

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by willinator »

Look, what you want to do doesn't require an override texture. Just use the remapped trooper at http://www.gametoast.com/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=16848 , then just edit the texture so that one arm is blue and the trooper is colored how you want. Override texture is only for when you have multiple classes that share the same model, like the battledroids. It makes it so they're all the same model, but use different textures. Even if you were doing something like that, you don't really need to use override texture, because you can just copy the msh and hex-edit to change the texture name to the one you want.
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

willinator wrote:Look, what you want to do doesn't require an override texture. Just use the remapped trooper at http://www.gametoast.com/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=16848 , then just edit the texture so that one arm is blue and the trooper is colored how you want. Override texture is only for when you have multiple classes that share the same model, like the battledroids. It makes it so they're all the same model, but use different textures. Even if you were doing something like that, you don't really need to use override texture, because you can just copy the msh and hex-edit to change the texture name to the one you want.
Is there a tutorial for hex editing .msh ?
User avatar
commanderawesome
Field Commander
Field Commander
Posts: 970
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:58 pm
Projects :: Skin Changer - Warfront - Other stuff
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF SWTOR KotOR EaW
xbox live or psn: AaTc_CmdrAwesome
Location: The Universe

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by commanderawesome »

Just open the file with any hex editor (I use PSPad), and search for .tga (as text) until you find rep_inf_ep3trooper.tga then change that to what you want (it has to be the same amount of characters (letters, nubers, etc.) as the name of the original texture.)
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

Hello modders and mappers, here is Indytotof again !

I've recently download some Savage Opress' skins and season 3 Ahsoka Tano's skin (that I convert into .tga files) and I want to use them in Star Wars Battlefront 2.

For the look, here is Savage Opress skins' part:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
My question is: Did I can use them, using the stocks Darth Maul meshes (Shaak Ti's ones for Ahsoka) by Override textures in the .odf ?
AQT
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 4910
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by AQT »

Again, that's not what override does. It's not going to texture-wise magically give the stock Darth Maul model the corresponding body parts in their correct places from those Savage Opress textures. You're going to have to manually do it yourself in GIMP.
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

AQT wrote:Again, that's not what override does. It's not going to texture-wise magically give the stock Darth Maul model the corresponding body parts in their correct places from those Savage Opress textures. You're going to have to manually do it yourself in GIMP.
By Exporting the Savage skin pieces into the stock Darth Maul skin right ? That means I've to "cloning" Darth Maul skin right ?

Thanks answering my question and give a way to do what I think I've to do.
User avatar
commanderawesome
Field Commander
Field Commander
Posts: 970
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:58 pm
Projects :: Skin Changer - Warfront - Other stuff
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF SWTOR KotOR EaW
xbox live or psn: AaTc_CmdrAwesome
Location: The Universe

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by commanderawesome »

Pretty much.
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

I've replace Darth Maul's textures by Savage's ones.

Did I have now to use the "OverrideTexture" code in the .odf file of my future Savage Opress unit ?
User avatar
willinator
Major
Major
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:11 pm
Projects :: [Coming of the Sentinels]
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 Minecraft Halo
xbox live or psn: PC pwns all!
Location: The rings of Saturn...

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by willinator »

No, you do not need to use override texture. Just edit the darth maul texture to be Savage Oppress.
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

After replace Maul's skins by Savage one's (and replace Maul hilt by Savage's one) I got this:

Image


Any though on what happen and how to fix that mess ?
AQT
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 4910
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by AQT »

There appears to be a language barrier issue here. Maybe this will help:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Face goes to face, see? You're going to have to put some work into it. Simply replacing the texture with another one that uses a completely different UV layout isn't going to automatically make everything line up perfectly.
Indytotof
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:58 am
Projects :: SWBF2 Sides Overhaul Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Senlis, France

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by Indytotof »

AQT wrote:There appears to be a language barrier issue here. Maybe this will help:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Face goes to face, see? You're going to have to put some work into it. Simply replacing the texture with another one that uses a completely different UV layout isn't going to automatically make everything line up perfectly.


So I have to replace Darth Maul face in his .tga by Savage one ?

How exactly I've to doing that ? Sorry to ask that, I'm a noob at this kind of retexturing.
AQT
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 4910
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA

Re: Override Textures for an units

Post by AQT »

Not just the face, but every corresponding body part. You're just going to have to learn the basics of GIMP.
Post Reply