GCW and CW sounds don't work together

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Benoz
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:34 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Era Mod Version 2
Games I'm Playing :: OldFront - EAFront
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Germany

GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Benoz »

Hello Community,

sorry for asking so much lately, but I just couldn't find helpful posts.
I have a problem with my sounds. In my mod I use custom sounds (e.g. for the DC-15 Carbine, etc.)
They work absolutely great, in fact I added a lot of custom sounds yet.

I always loaded the sounds like this:

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw")     
    ReadDataFile("sound\\dag.lvl;dag1cw")
Because else some vanilla sounds won't play.

Now I have a problem on Death Star. I have Rebel Katarn troopers fight there, so this means clones and rebels.
Now I have to load sounds from CW and GCW and custom sounds. But when I do this:

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw") 
        ReadDataFile("sound\\dea.lvl;dea1cw")
	ReadDataFile("sound\\dea.lvl;dea1gcw")
	
Some of the sounds just miss (sometimes weapon sounds, sometimes grenade sounds and sometimes VOs)
This is really annoying.
I even tried loding the sounds like this:

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw") 
	ReadDataFile("sound\\dea.lvl;dea1gcw")
	ReadDataFile("sound\\dea.lvl;dea1cw")
so the GCW sounds first, but nothing changed.
Please could somebody help me?

Thanks in advance,
-66
Deviss
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 3772
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Extended
Games I'm Playing :: BF2

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Deviss »

i did gcw campaigns with republic side , so i did a shipped sounds from republic like voice, weapons etc i hope it be useful :) :
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code]
// Start Republic Units //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Unit VO Effects
..\..\cw\effects\RICOM401.wav -resample ps2 6000 xbox 16000 pc 22050
..\..\cw\effects\RICOM402.wav -resample ps2 7000 xbox 16000 pc 22050
..\..\cw\effects\RICOM403.wav -resample ps2 5000 xbox 16000 pc 22050
..\..\cw\effects\RICOM404.wav -resample ps2 5000 xbox 16000 pc 22050
..\..\cw\effects\RICOM405.wav -resample ps2 7000 xbox 16000 pc 22050
..\..\cw\effects\RICOM406.wav -resample ps2 6000 xbox 16000 pc 22050
//temp
..\..\global\effects\malechoke.wav -alias ps2 RICOM401 -resample xbox 22050 pc 22050

// Rep Rifleman /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// rep_weap_inf_pistol rep_weap_inf_rifle rep_weap_inf_thermaldetonator
// * Thermal Detonator uses All Thermal Detonators
#ifplatform xbox pc
..\..\cw\effects\wpn_rep_blaster_fire.wav -resample xbox 22050 pc 44100
..\..\cw\effects\wpn_rep_pistol_fire.wav -resample xbox 22050 pc 44100
#endifplatform xbox pc
#ifplatform ps2
..\..\cw\effects\wp2_rep_blaster_fire.wav wpn_rep_blaster_fire -resample ps2 16000
..\..\cw\effects\wp2_rep_pistol_fire.wav wpn_rep_pistol_fire -resample ps2 20000
#endifplatform ps2


// Rep Rocketeer ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//rep_weap_inf_mine_dispenser rep_weap_inf_pistol rep_weap_inf_rocket_launcher rep_weap_inf_thermaldetonator
// * Uses All Mine Dispensers
// * Uses Rifleman pistol
// * Uses CW Rocket Launchers
// * Uses All Thermal Detonators

// Rep Sniper //////////////////////////////////////////////////
// rep_weap_inf_pistol rep_weap_inf_remotedroid rep_weap_inf_sniper_rifle rep_weap_inf_thermaldetonator

// Rep Pilot rep_weap_inf_commando_pistol rep_weap_inf_fusioncutter rep_weap_inf_timebomb

// Rep Engineer rep_weap_inf_autoturret_dispenser rep_weap_inf_detpack rep_weap_inf_fusioncutter rep_weap_inf_shotgun
// * Uses common/All for each weapon
// Rep Jettrooper rep_weap_inf_commando_pistol rep_weap_inf_emp_launcher rep_weap_inf_thermaldetonator
// * Uses All Commando Pistols

// Rep Officer: Buff Defense, Chaingun, Pistol, Powerup Dispenser
// Chaingun Rep Officer
..\..\global\effects\chain_wind_lp.WAV wpn_chaingun_spin -resample ps2 16000 xbox 22050 pc 22050
..\..\cw\effects\ChainGun01.wav wpn_chaingun_fire01 -resample ps2 16000 xbox 22050 pc 22050
// All Buff Fire
..\..\global\effects\sfx_pod_binder_activate_a.wav com_buff_fire -resample ps2 16000 xbox 22050 pc 22050
[/code]
User avatar
Benoz
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:34 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Era Mod Version 2
Games I'm Playing :: OldFront - EAFront
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Germany

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Benoz »

Deviss wrote:i did gcw campaigns with republic side , so i did a shipped sounds from republic like voice, weapons etc i hope it be useful :) :
Does that mean you just made a new sound file for the republic/gcw with shipped sounds and loaded it with dc: ?
And in what order did you load the sound files?
Deviss
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 3772
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Extended
Games I'm Playing :: BF2

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Deviss »

The66Order66 wrote:
Deviss wrote:i did gcw campaigns with republic side , so i did a shipped sounds from republic like voice, weapons etc i hope it be useful :) :
Does that mean you just made a new sound file for the republic/gcw with shipped sounds and loaded it with dc: ?
And in what order did you load the sound files?
oh sorry i forgot it xD


ReadDataFile("sound\\mus.lvl;mus1cross")---> gcw sound
ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\ABC.lvl;ABCcw")---> custom sounds
ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\CPN.lvl;CPNcw")---> shipped sound (republic voices and weapons sounds)
Marth8880
Resistance Leader
Posts: 5042
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Projects :: DI2 + Psychosis
Games I'm Playing :: Silent Hill 2
xbox live or psn: Marth8880
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Marth8880 »

It's worth noting that the game does have a sound memory limit, and most stock sound lvls alone come pretty close to reaching this limit. What this means is that if you load a stock sound lvl, and try to load another large sound lvl, one of them won't be loaded.
thelegend
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1433
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:01 am
Projects :: Star Wars - Battlefront III Legacy
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf GTA CoD LoL KH
xbox live or psn: El_Fabricio#
Location: Right behind you :)

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by thelegend »

Marth8880 wrote:It's worth noting that the game does have a sound memory limit, and most stock sound lvls alone come pretty close to reaching this limit. What this means is that if you load a stock sound lvl, and try to load another large sound lvl, one of them won't be loaded.
Isn't it possible to increase the game's sound limit?
Marth8880
Resistance Leader
Posts: 5042
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Projects :: DI2 + Psychosis
Games I'm Playing :: Silent Hill 2
xbox live or psn: Marth8880
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Marth8880 »

thelegend wrote:Isn't it possible to increase the game's sound limit?
I sure wish there were, bud. All you can do is use lower sample rates for sounds and optimize longer sounds to be shorter and thus use less memory.
thelegend
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1433
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:01 am
Projects :: Star Wars - Battlefront III Legacy
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf GTA CoD LoL KH
xbox live or psn: El_Fabricio#
Location: Right behind you :)

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by thelegend »

Marth8880 wrote:I sure wish there were, bud. All you can do is use lower sample rates for sounds and optimize longer sounds to be shorter and thus use less memory.
Hm..that's a pity. Sometimes I wish Battlefront II would have been more upgraded somehow like other, older games so limits would no longer stand in our ways. The most annonying limits (in my opinion) are graphical limits, limits for effects, animation and sound limits.
User avatar
Benoz
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:34 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Era Mod Version 2
Games I'm Playing :: OldFront - EAFront
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Germany

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Benoz »

Marth8880 wrote:It's worth noting that the game does have a sound memory limit, and most stock sound lvls alone come pretty close to reaching this limit. What this means is that if you load a stock sound lvl, and try to load another large sound lvl, one of them won't be loaded.
So that explains why some sounds just went missing. I give your method a try Dev. It definitely uses less space.

EDIT:
I noticed another weird thing. When I'm on Kashyyyk, I loaded the sounds like this:

Code: Select all

    ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw")
             ReadDataFile("sound\\kas.lvl;kas1cw")
And when I munge and play it, I can only hear my custom sounds (blasters, grenades, etc.) but no sounds of Kashyyyk itself.
By that I mean the barcspeeder and the fightertanks don't have a sound or when a trooper moves on the ground you can't hear the footsteps.
Now when I load the sounds like this:

Code: Select all

    ReadDataFile("sound\\kas.lvl;kas1cw")  
             ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw")
I can only hear the Kashyyyk sounds but not my custom ones...

Is there anyway to fix this, or is this also because of the memory limit? My custom sound .lvl has 5.9MB btw
Deviss
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 3772
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Extended
Games I'm Playing :: BF2

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Deviss »

The66Order66 wrote:
Marth8880 wrote:It's worth noting that the game does have a sound memory limit, and most stock sound lvls alone come pretty close to reaching this limit. What this means is that if you load a stock sound lvl, and try to load another large sound lvl, one of them won't be loaded.
So that explains why some sounds just went missing. I give your method a try Dev. It definitely uses less space.

EDIT:
I noticed another weird thing. When I'm on Kashyyyk, I loaded the sounds like this:

Code: Select all

    ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw")
             ReadDataFile("sound\\kas.lvl;kas1cw")
And when I munge and play it, I can only hear my custom sounds (blasters, grenades, etc.) but no sounds of Kashyyyk itself.
By that I mean the barcspeeder and the fightertanks don't have a sound or when a trooper moves on the ground you can't hear the footsteps.
Now when I load the sounds like this:

Code: Select all

    ReadDataFile("sound\\kas.lvl;kas1cw")  
             ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw")
I can only hear the Kashyyyk sounds but not my custom ones...

Is there anyway to fix this, or is this also because of the memory limit? My custom sound .lvl has 5.9MB btw
i have same problem, custom sounds dont work on Kashyyyk and Felucia :S
User avatar
Benoz
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:34 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Era Mod Version 2
Games I'm Playing :: OldFront - EAFront
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Germany

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Benoz »

Deviss wrote:i have same problem, custom sounds dont work on Kashyyyk and Felucia :S
Hey Dev, I found a solution for Felucia though this is just a workaround.
If you load the files like this:

Code: Select all

    
ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw")
ReadDataFile("sound\\cor.lvl;cor1cw")	
ReadDataFile("sound\\fel.lvl;fel1cw")
It will load your custom sound and the sound of Felucia. I really don't know why this works.
The disadvantage of this workaround is you can't hear the vehicle sounds since the vehicles of Felucia aren't present on Coruscant.

Does anybody know how to fix this issue on Kashyyyk and Felucia once and for all?
Deviss
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 3772
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Extended
Games I'm Playing :: BF2

Re: GCW and CW sounds don't work together

Post by Deviss »

The66Order66 wrote:
Deviss wrote:i have same problem, custom sounds dont work on Kashyyyk and Felucia :S
Hey Dev, I found a solution for Felucia though this is just a workaround.
If you load the files like this:

Code: Select all

    
ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\XXX.lvl;repcw")
ReadDataFile("sound\\cor.lvl;cor1cw")	
ReadDataFile("sound\\fel.lvl;fel1cw")
It will load your custom sound and the sound of Felucia. I really don't know why this works.
The disadvantage of this workaround is you can't hear the vehicle sounds since the vehicles of Felucia aren't present on Coruscant.

Does anybody know how to fix this issue on Kashyyyk and Felucia once and for all?
yeah for example on felucia disappear vehicles sounds and acklay :S
Post Reply