Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

High General
User avatar
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Twitter @_KrypticElement
Games I'm Playing :: COD SWBF
xbox live or psn: KrypticcElementt

Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby modmaster13 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:53 pm

Hey everyone, I have two questions.

1) Is it possible to make a boundary specific to 1 game mode only?

2) Can I set up the boundary via a path (instead of setting it up in the boundary section of ZE)? I have a path called "CTFBound" in my path section of my CTF layer in ZE.


I'm looking to have 3 different boundaries, one unique boundary for each game mode.

Resistance Leader
User avatar
Posts: 5080
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Projects :: EVERYWHERE + Zero Munge + TCW
Games I'm Playing :: Civ3 + DEHR
xbox live or psn: Marth8880

Re: Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby Marth8880 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:29 pm

modmaster13 wrote:1) Is it possible to make a boundary specific to 1 game mode only?

You might be able to do it by removing the boundary section from the world REQ file and putting it in the game mode's MRQ file (which is basically a REQ file) - I know this is how Pandemic set up unique planning for different game modes in a single map. With that said, you'll need to manually rename the BND file to the correct name whenever you want to make changes to it.

modmaster13 wrote:2) Can I set up the boundary via a path (instead of setting it up in the boundary section of ZE)? I have a path called "CTFBound" in my path section of my CTF layer in ZE.

Probably. If you look at kas2.bnd, you'll notice that it references 2 path names, "boundary1" and "boundary2":
Code: Select all
Boundary()
{
   Path("boundary1");
   Path("boundary2");
}

Both of these paths can be found in kas2.pth:
Code: Select all
Path("boundary1")
{
   Data(0);
   PathType(0);
   PathSpeedType(0);
   PathTime(0.000000);
   OffsetPath(0);
   SplineType("Hermite");

   Properties(0)
   {
   }

   Nodes(12)
   {
      Node()
      {
         Position(236.830490, 33.685246, 91.398972);
         Knot(0.000000);
         Data(1);
         Time(1.000000);
         PauseTime(0.000000);
         Rotation(1.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000);
         Properties(0)
         {
         }
      }

      ...

   }

}

Path("boundary2")
{
   Data(0);
   PathType(0);
   PathSpeedType(0);
   PathTime(0.000000);
   OffsetPath(0);
   SplineType("Hermite");

   Properties(0)
   {
   }

   Nodes(12)
   {
      Node()
      {
         Position(287.077423, 31.466921, -61.837532);
         Knot(0.000000);
         Data(1);
         Time(1.000000);
         PauseTime(0.000000);
         Rotation(1.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000);
         Properties(0)
         {
         }
      }

      ...

   }

}

Much like setting up a billboard tree path, the direction in which the path is created (clockwise vs. counterclockwise) is important - although I can't remember which one is actually correct, so you'll have to do a few tests and figure that out yourself.

Finally, it should be noted that boundaries must always be named "boundary", followed by a number if there are multiple boundary paths.

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3465
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby AceMastermind » Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:18 am

modmaster13 wrote:1) Is it possible to make a boundary specific to 1 game mode only?

2) Can I set up the boundary via a path (instead of setting it up in the boundary section of ZE)? I have a path called "CTFBound" in my path section of my CTF layer in ZE.

I'm looking to have 3 different boundaries, one unique boundary for each game mode.

Paths and boundaries serve a different purpose, if you want a boundary just use the Boundary tab in ZE, easy enough.
If you want a different boundary for each game mode just add a boundary to the specific layer for each game mode.
Boundary names are arbitrary by the way, you can name them anything you want.

https://sites.google.com/site/swbf2modt ... a-boundary
https://sites.google.com/site/swbf2modt ... _gamemodes

Resistance Leader
User avatar
Posts: 5080
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Projects :: EVERYWHERE + Zero Munge + TCW
Games I'm Playing :: Civ3 + DEHR
xbox live or psn: Marth8880

Re: Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby Marth8880 » Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:43 pm

AceMastermind wrote:Paths and boundaries serve a different purpose, if you want a boundary just use the Boundary tab in ZE, easy enough.

Problem is sometimes you need more precise boundaries.

AceMastermind wrote:If you want a different boundary for each game mode just add a boundary to the specific layer for each game mode.

Are you sure that boundaries are bound to layers? If they are, great, that makes it way simpler 8D

AceMastermind wrote:Boundary names are arbitrary by the way, you can name them anything you want.

I don't think so. I'd have to check, but I don't recall being able to use just any name in any of the recent maps I've worked on - and I tried with each one of them.

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3465
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby AceMastermind » Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:03 pm

Marth8880 wrote:Problem is sometimes you need more precise boundaries.

What kind of precision are you looking for in boundaries? :)
You can create as many as you need to get precise, but it sounds like you're using boundaries for the wrong thing.
If you're looking to keep the player confined to a specific area then you should use collision or death/damage regions etc.

Marth8880 wrote:Are you sure that boundaries are bound to layers?

Not a 100%, but that is a benefit of using layers in SWBF2 modding, so I see no reason it shouldn't work.
It should only take you a few minutes to test if you already have different game modes ready.

Marth8880 wrote:I don't think so. ... I don't recall being able to use just any name

I performed these experiments years ago and the names can be anything you want. I'm not sure why you're experiencing problems.
The boundary name for the one on this page when the screenshot was taken was named "ace". :)
https://sites.google.com/site/swbf2modt ... a-boundary

Resistance Leader
User avatar
Posts: 5080
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Projects :: EVERYWHERE + Zero Munge + TCW
Games I'm Playing :: Civ3 + DEHR
xbox live or psn: Marth8880

Re: Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby Marth8880 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:05 am

AceMastermind wrote:What kind of precision are you looking for in boundaries?

It's a rare occasion, but sometimes I need 90-degree angles in the boundaries.

AceMastermind wrote:If you're looking to keep the player confined to a specific area then you should use collision or death/damage regions etc.

I personally despise invisible collision in most cases, and death/damage regions (except in pits etc.) penalize the player for exploring, whereas boundaries at least provide time for the player to take a step back before being penalized. :P

AceMastermind wrote:but that is a benefit of using layers in SWBF2 modding

Indeed 8D

Image

(among many others)

High General
User avatar
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Twitter @_KrypticElement
Games I'm Playing :: COD SWBF
xbox live or psn: KrypticcElementt

Re: Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby modmaster13 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:43 am

Hey guys, thanks for all the help, so I tried adding a boundary to my map that is only for 1-Flag CTF (The CTF specific boundary is located in the CTF Layer). Here is what it looks like in ZE:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


And here's what happens when I go ingame. The boundary isn't there, and I'm able to go explore outside of it:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


Any ideas of where I could go from here?

Resistance Leader
User avatar
Posts: 5080
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Projects :: EVERYWHERE + Zero Munge + TCW
Games I'm Playing :: Civ3 + DEHR
xbox live or psn: Marth8880

Re: Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby Marth8880 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:49 am

Refer to my initial reply. ;)

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3465
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: Unique Boundaries for each game mode?

Postby AceMastermind » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:21 pm

modmaster13 wrote:The boundary isn't there, and I'm able to go explore outside of it ... Any ideas of where I could go from here?

You don't still have a boundary in the base layer do you?

Return to SWBF2 Modding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests