Modtools not munging localization [Solved]

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2640
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:32 am
Location: Pizza Land
Projects :: TOR GCWII GCW1035
xbox live or psn: Johnny_Sciroppo

Modtools not munging localization [Solved]

Postby Delta-1035 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:01 pm

Hey guys,

I'm using the mod tools on a new PC, I had to use the Win7 munge fix, because I had that fast munging\no munging glitch and everything seems to work fine now, exept for the localization. Even if you do not make any changes, in game there is no localization, for the map name is still %XXX%, teams are [NULL], units, weapons and pause menu are not localized.

Any idea on how to fix that?
Last edited by Delta-1035 on Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11073
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Teancum » Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:06 pm

Just posting to say mine does this too, and so I haven't released my maps on PC.

Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:24 pm
Location: Howling at the Moon
Projects :: Something
Games I'm Playing :: Xenoblade Splatoon

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Havoc 526 » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:59 am

Replying to say I'm getting this as well. I just jumped back in after a break, reinstalled my game and patches, munged a mod from where I left it a year ago with the munge fixes Delta mentioned, and the only issue is the localization, with the same issue. This is getting a little weird...I'm noticing the Core.lvl file is almost non existant at a single kilobyte.

Edit: I even went so far as to create a new Map from scratch just to see, and yeah, the issue still lingers.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11073
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Teancum » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:31 pm

I remember this being something about Win 10 1803 and up, but I could be wrong. I need to dig through some old topics.........

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1186
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:55 pm
Location: San Diego
Projects :: SWBF2 PSP+PS2 Conversion

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby AnthonyBF2 » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:33 pm

I had this issue before. I'm using Windows 10. A format+reinstall of the OS fixed it.

Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:24 pm
Location: Howling at the Moon
Projects :: Something
Games I'm Playing :: Xenoblade Splatoon

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Havoc 526 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:21 pm

I dunno, that sort of solution sounds a little extreme...

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11073
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Teancum » Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:52 pm

Try editing \data_[MY MAP NAME]\_BUILD\Common\munge.bat\ in a text editor.

Find this line
Code: Select all
more "%%i" >>  "%TempDir%\%%~ni%%~xi"


and change it to this
Code: Select all
more /E "%%i" >>  "%TempDir%\%%~ni%%~xi"


In Windows 10 1803 and up the Perl more command behaves differently. Dunno what the /E switch does exactly, but that was the fix posted online.

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2640
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:32 am
Location: Pizza Land
Projects :: TOR GCWII GCW1035
xbox live or psn: Johnny_Sciroppo

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Delta-1035 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:24 pm

Can't find that line in my data_***\_BUILD\Common\munge.bat

Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:24 pm
Location: Howling at the Moon
Projects :: Something
Games I'm Playing :: Xenoblade Splatoon

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Havoc 526 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 4:49 pm

I'm not finding that line either...where should it be?

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11073
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Teancum » Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:41 pm

Correction, it's

SWBF2_Modtools\data_[MY MAP]\_BUILD\Common\mergelocalize.bat

Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:24 pm
Location: Howling at the Moon
Projects :: Something
Games I'm Playing :: Xenoblade Splatoon

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Havoc 526 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 1:46 am

Well, that solves it on my end! Delta, how are you faring?

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2640
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:32 am
Location: Pizza Land
Projects :: TOR GCWII GCW1035
xbox live or psn: Johnny_Sciroppo

Re: Modtools not munging localization

Postby Delta-1035 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:39 pm

Eh, I'm not sure, it seems that the visualmunge stops when it's trying to merge localizations. I'll have to try again.

EDIT: The problem is now solved, I had to remove the "quotes", thanks Tean!

Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:02 am
Location: Toronto, ON
Projects :: The Battlefront Unleashed
Games I'm Playing :: BF4 BF2EA BF2 BF1
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Modtools not munging localization [Solved]

Postby Soupyy » Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:36 pm

What do I press when I munge? Just Localize?

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2640
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:32 am
Location: Pizza Land
Projects :: TOR GCWII GCW1035
xbox live or psn: Johnny_Sciroppo

Re: Modtools not munging localization [Solved]

Postby Delta-1035 » Wed Feb 27, 2019 4:38 am

Flag Common and Localize on the VisualMunge.

Return to SWBF2 Modding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests