Tutorial: How to add local sides! (FAQ)

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Tutorial: How to add local sides! (FAQ)

Post by Penguin »

Okay, I'm going to write this tutorial on how to set up local sides for you!

Step 1:

Open up ZeroEditor




Step 2:

Go to what ever layer is needed ((if you want the local side to be in the conquest mode, or XL, CTF, or all, open up the needed layer, if you want them to be in all the modes, just stay in the BASE layer))

For this tutorial, we will be using the Conquest layer. so open up the conquest layer



Step 3:


NOTE:
Steps for non capturable Command Posts will be in purple

Steps for capturable Command Posts will be in orange



go to objects, and place a new "Invisible" Command Post anywhere in the map,

you can find an invisible Command Post in /common/odfs "com_bldg_invisible_controlzone"

best place to put the Command Post is some where where you will be able to find it again later with ease,

Next, set the the set the name to anything that you want, for this we will name it Local_CP

now, set the spawn path to anything you want again, for this we will use Local_Spawn

now assign the command post a team, for this we will assign it to team 3. so assign it to team 3 by replacing what ever is in the team box with a 3.

now you will have to lower the CP. you'll have to sink it by 5 under that ever the height is its on.

so if the height of the terrain its on is 0, set the CPs height to -5

if the terrain is something like, 22, lower it down by five so its at 17, etc

NOTE: to find out the terrains height go into HEIGHT -> pick and then click on the terrain and it will tell you the height of the terrain

now you will need make a new path by going into Path -> new path, next you will need to change the path name to what ever you set the spawn paths name in the CP to, ours is Local_Spawn.

now that you've named it we will begin to place path nodes all over the place until we feel happy.






go to objects, and place a new Command Post anywhere in the map,

you can find an Command Post in /common/odfs "com_bldg_controlzone"

best place to put the Command Post is some where where you will be able to find it again later with ease,

Next, set the the set the name to anything that you want, for this we will name it Local_CP

now, set the spawn path to anything you want again, for this we will use Local_Spawn

Now we need to set the capture region, we will use Local_Capture

now assign the command post a team, for this we will assign it to team 3. so assign it to team 3 by replacing what ever is in the team box with a 3.

now you will need make a new path by going into Path -> new path, next you will need to change the path name to what ever you set the spawn paths name in the CP to, ours is Local_Spawn.

now that you've named it we will begin to place path nodes all over the place until we feel happy.

now you need to make a capture region for the CP. go into Regions -> new group, now select Cylinder, now place it right over our CP. now we have to select it by pressing select region and then by clicking on the region.

now enter what ever you set the capture region to be in the CP, we've set ours to Local_Capture, so type that in the Class Properties box, and it you want to, also in the Region ID box so you can find the region with ease.




Step 4

Now save your .wld file and quit.

now go to /common/scripts/MOD_ID/ since were making the locals spawn in the conquest mode, we will open up MOD_IDc_con.lua with a program like Notepad,

NOTE:I suggest going and Downloading Notepad++, it makes scripting and coding, writing, etc etc, much easier.


now that MOD_IDc_con.lua is open, scroll down to this

Code: Select all

 ReadDataFile("sound\\\\yav.lvl;yav1cw") 
now we need to decide on what we want out locals to be, i've decided that for this tutorial they will be Jawas.

scroll down to

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("sound\\\\yav.lvl;yav1cw") 
add this below it

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\\\des.lvl",
                     "tat_inf_jawa")

now scroll down to

Code: Select all

    SetupTeams{
	
	rep={
	team = REP,
	units = 29,
	reinforcements = 150,
	soldier = {"rep_inf_ep3_rifleman",10, 25},
	assault = {"rep_inf_ep3_rocketeer",1, 4},
	engineer = {"rep_inf_ep3_engineer",1, 4},
	sniper  = {"rep_inf_ep3_sniper_felucia",1, 4},
	officer = {"rep_inf_ep3_officer",1, 4},
	special = {"rep_inf_ep3_jettrooper",1, 4},
	
	},
	
	cis={
	team = CIS,
	units = 29,
	reinforcements = 150,
	soldier = {"cis_inf_rifleman",10, 25},
	assault = {"cis_inf_rocketeer",1, 4},
	engineer = {"cis_inf_engineer",1, 4},
	sniper  = {"cis_inf_sniper",1, 4},
	officer   = {"cis_inf_officer",1, 4},
	special = {"cis_inf_droideka",1, 4},
	}
    }


and add this below it

Code: Select all

   SetTeamName (3, "jawas") 
	AddUnitClass (3, "tat_inf_jawa", 10,15)
	SetUnitCount (3, 15)
	AddAIGoal(3, "Deathmatch", 100)	


now onto step 5:, keep the .lua open![/color]




now that MOD_IDc_con.lua is open, scroll down to this


Code: Select all

   --This defines the CPs.  These need to happen first
    cp1 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp1"}
    cp2 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp2"}
    cp3 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp3"}
    cp4 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp4"} 
	
    --This sets up the actual objective.  This needs to happen after cp's are defined
    conquest = ObjectiveConquest:New{teamATT = ATT, teamDEF = DEF, 
	textATT = "game.modes.con", 
	textDEF = "game.modes.con2",
	multiplayerRules = true}
    
    --This adds the CPs to the objective.  This needs to happen after the objective is set up
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp1)
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp2)
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp3)
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp4)
	

make it look like this

Code: Select all

   --This defines the CPs.  These need to happen first
    cp1 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp1"}
    cp2 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp2"}
    cp3 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp3"}
    cp4 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp4"}
    cp5 = CommandPost:New{name = "Local_CP"}	
	
    --This sets up the actual objective.  This needs to happen after cp's are defined
    conquest = ObjectiveConquest:New{teamATT = ATT, teamDEF = DEF, 
	textATT = "game.modes.con", 
	textDEF = "game.modes.con2",
	multiplayerRules = true}
    
    --This adds the CPs to the objective.  This needs to happen after the objective is set up
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp1)
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp2)
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp3)
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp4)
    conquest:AddCommandPost(cp5)  



now scroll down to this

Code: Select all

 ReadDataFile("sound\\\\yav.lvl;yav1cw") 

now we need to decide on what we want out locals to be, I've decided that for this tutorial they will be Jawas.

scroll down to this

Code: Select all

 ReadDataFile("sound\\\\yav.lvl;yav1cw") 

and add this

Code: Select all

	ReadDataFile("SIDE\\\\des.lvl",
	"tat_inf_jawa")
	


now scroll down to

Code: Select all

    SetupTeams{
	
	rep={
	team = REP,
	units = 29,
	reinforcements = 150,
	soldier = {"rep_inf_ep3_rifleman",10, 25},
	assault = {"rep_inf_ep3_rocketeer",1, 4},
	engineer = {"rep_inf_ep3_engineer",1, 4},
	sniper  = {"rep_inf_ep3_sniper_felucia",1, 4},
	officer = {"rep_inf_ep3_officer",1, 4},
	special = {"rep_inf_ep3_jettrooper",1, 4},
	
	},
	
	cis={
	team = CIS,
	units = 29,
	reinforcements = 150,
	soldier = {"cis_inf_rifleman",10, 25},
	assault = {"cis_inf_rocketeer",1, 4},
	engineer = {"cis_inf_engineer",1, 4},
	sniper  = {"cis_inf_sniper",1, 4},
	officer   = {"cis_inf_officer",1, 4},
	special = {"cis_inf_droideka",1, 4},
	}
    }
	

and add this below it

Code: Select all

	SetTeamName (3, "jawas")
	AddUnitClass (3, "tat_inf_jawa", 10,15)
	SetUnitCount (3, 15)
	AddAIGoal(3, "Deathmatch", 100)	   
	

now onto step 5:, keep the .lua open![/color]





Step 5:

now we need to set up what sides the jawas are on.

scroll down to this, which you should have added in Step 4.

Code: Select all

	SetTeamName (3, "jawas") 
	AddUnitClass (3, "tat_inf_jawa", 10,15)
	SetUnitCount (3, 15)
	AddAIGoal(3, "Deathmatch", 100)
	




Now read this so you can get some understanding on what you will want to add

Code: Select all

	SetTeamAsFriend(ATT,3)
	SetTeamAsFriend(3,ATT)
	SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3)
	SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF)
	

that does this

SetTeamAsFriend(ATT,3) = sets attacking team to friendly towards team 3 (jawas)
SetTeamAsFriend(3,ATT) = sets team 3 (jawas) to friendly towards attacking team
SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3) = sets defending team to friendly towards team 3 (jawas)
SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF) = sets team 3 (jawas) to fiendly towards defending team

if you wanted them as an enemy, it would be like this

Code: Select all

	SetTeamAsEnemy(ATT,3)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(3,ATT)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(DEF,3)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(3,DEF)
	

which does this

SetTeamAsEnemy(ATT,3) = sets Attacking team hostile towards team 3 (jawas)
SetTeamAsEnemy(3,ATT) = sets team 3 (jawas) hostile towards Attacking team
SetTeamAsEnemy(DEF,3) = sets Defending team hostile towards team 3 (jawas)
SetTeamAsEnemy(3,DEF) = sets team 3 (jawas) hostile towards Defending team


if you wanted team 3 (jawas) to be friendly with, say, the Defending team, but hostile towards the attacking team, you would do this

Code: Select all

	SetTeamAsEnemy(ATT,3)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(3,ATT)
	SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3)
	SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF)
	

SetTeamAsEnemy(ATT,3) = sets Attacking team hostile towards team 3 (jawas)
SetTeamAsEnemy(3,ATT) = sets team 3 (jawas) hostile towards Attacking team
SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3) = sets Defending team friendly towards team 3 (jawas)
SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF) = sets team 3 (jawas) friendly towards Defending team


now heres of something more complicated that you can figure out yourself, basically, theres the attacking team(ATT), defending team (DEF), team 3 (Jawas) and team 4 (Tuskans), just like my Tatooine Valley map, apart from i don't have the 5, 6 or 7th sides in this example ((5th was the astromech droids, 6th was the Jedi and the 7th was the Sith))

Code: Select all

	SetTeamAsEnemy(4,ATT)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(ATT,4)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(4,DEF)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(DEF,4)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(4,3)
	SetTeamAsEnemy(3,4)
	SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3)
	SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF)
	SetTeamAsFriend(ATT,3)
	SetTeamAsFriend(3,ATT)
	


for this, I've decided to make every one friends with team 3, the Jawas, so I've changed it to this

Code: Select all

	SetTeamName (3, "jawas") 
	AddUnitClass (3, "tat_inf_jawa", 10,15)
	SetUnitCount (3, 15)
	AddAIGoal(3, "Deathmatch", 100)	
	SetTeamAsFriend(ATT,3)
	SetTeamAsFriend(3,ATT)
	SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3)
	SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF)
	




Now your pretty much done! save your .lua and munge! if you have done this correctly, you should now have Jawas running around your map, but if you kill one of them, it will show up as

blahblahblah killed [NULL],

to fix this, go into your MOD_ID folder and run "editlocalize.bat"

once its started, right click on level and select Add Scope, name the Scope the three letter name of your map, mine is LTT (Local team Tutorial)

so now you will have something like this

level -> LTT,

now you need to right click on LTT and select Add Key, once you've done that rename it to the name that we set our local team in the .lua, remember, ours was Jawas, so set it to Jawas, it now should look something like this

level -> LTT -> Jawas

select Jawas and the boxes on the right side of the program will become ungrayed, under the level.MOD_ID.Jawas type the name of the creatures that you have in the map, ours are Jawas so i will type Jawa

now that that is down, click on the drop down menu below the box and select the next language, which should be French, type Jawa in the box again and then select a new language in the box, keep and doing this until you've done every single language,

NOTE: it is VERY important that when your typing the name, that you do it in every language, other wise for people with different version of the game ((example, Australians)) even though we speak English, it will still come up as [NULL] for us because there are two version of English in SWBF II, theres English, and UK English.

Also, if you've done a MASSIVE amount of custom sides, weapons, creatures, tips, etc. it can be VERY pain full to go back in and have to add all the names for other languages that you didn't do the first time.

now save your language files and quit.

open up Visual Munge and select localize, then munge.

In game when you kill the Jawas or what ever creatures you have it should come up as what the typed in the boxes in the editlocalize.bat program.


Have fun!

~Penguin

Glossary:
MOD_ID
The three letter name of your map, which would have been specified when creating the map with VisualMunge for the first time.

LTT
Local Team Tutorial, my MOD_ID name for the map for tutorial purposes, replace all instances of LTT with your MOD_ID.
Tohron

Post by Tohron »

Thanks for the great tutorial, but since I'm trying to do something rather wierd, I'll need a bit more help. What I'm attempting is adding Geonosian locals to a hero assault map, and since the script for Hero Assault has several differences (such as an apparent lack of a team setup section) some of the later sections of the tutorial don't make sense in my context.

Any ideas?
Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Penguin »

the hero assault .luas are basicly the same as the conquest .luas, it should still work
Tohron

Post by Tohron »

Penguin wrote:the hero assault .luas are basicly the same as the conquest .luas, it should still work
Does it matter where I put the sections such as "team setup" that are completely absent in the Hero Assault LUA? Will I need to add some basic information in them to make things work? Thanks!
User avatar
General_Grievous_4
Rebel Sergeant
Rebel Sergeant
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 10:07 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Post by General_Grievous_4 »

Hidden/Spoiler:
--
-- Copyright (c) 2005 Pandemic Studios, LLC. All rights reserved.
--
-- Mos Eisley Hero Deathmatch (uses Space Assault rules)
-- First team to reach 100 kills wins
--

ScriptCB_DoFile("setup_teams")
ScriptCB_DoFile("ObjectiveTDM")

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- ScriptPostLoad
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
function ScriptPostLoad()
EnableSPHeroRules()
-- This is the actual objective setup
TDM = ObjectiveTDM:New{teamATT = 1, teamDEF = 2,
multiplayerScoreLimit = 100,
textATT = "game.modes.tdm",
textDEF = "game.modes.tdm2", multiplayerRules = true, isCelebrityDeathmatch = true}
TDM:Start()

AddAIGoal(1, "Deathmatch", 100)
AddAIGoal(2, "Deathmatch", 100)
end


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- ScriptInit
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
function ScriptInit()


SetMemoryPoolSize ("ClothData",20)
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo",70) -- should be ~ 2x number of jedi classes
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::State",850) -- should be ~12x #Combo
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::Transition",850) -- should be a bit bigger than #Combo::State
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::Condition",850) -- should be a bit bigger than #Combo::State
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::Attack",750) -- should be ~8-12x #Combo
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::DamageSample",8000) -- should be ~8-12x #Combo::Attack
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::Deflect",140) -- should be ~1x #combo -- should be ~1x #combo

ReadDataFile("ingame.lvl")

ALL = 1
IMP = 2
-- These variables do not change
ATT = 1
DEF = 2

SetMaxFlyHeight(500)
SetMaxPlayerFlyHeight(500)

ReadDataFile("sound\\tat.lvl;tat2gcw")
ReadDataFile("SIDE\\all.lvl",
"all_hero_luke_tat",
"all_hero_hansolo_storm",
"all_hero_leia",
"all_hero_chewbacca")

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\imp.lvl",
"imp_hero_darthvader",
"imp_hero_emperor",
"imp_hero_bobafett")

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\rep.lvl",
"rep_hero_yoda",
"rep_hero_macewindu",
"rep_hero_anakin",
"rep_hero_aalya",
"rep_hero_kiyadimundi",
"rep_hero_obiwan")

ReadDataFile("dc:SIDE\\cis.lvl",
"cis_hero_grievous",
"cis_hero_darthmaul",
"cis_hero_countdooku",
"cis_hero_jangofett")

--[[ Turrets disabled
ReadDataFile("SIDE\\tur.lvl",
"tur_bldg_chaingun_roof",
"tur_weap_built_gunturret")
SetMemoryPoolSize("MountedTurret", 15)
--]]

--ReadDataFile("SIDE\\snw.lvl", "snw_inf_wampa")

SetupTeams{
hero = {
team = ALL,
units = 12,
reinforcements = -1,
soldier = { "all_hero_hansolo_storm",1,2},
assault = { "all_hero_chewbacca", 1,2},
engineer= { "all_hero_luke_tat", 1,2},
sniper = { "rep_hero_obiwan", 1,2},
officer = { "rep_hero_yoda", 1,2},
special = { "rep_hero_macewindu", 1,2},
},
}

AddUnitClass(ALL,"all_hero_leia", 1,2)
AddUnitClass(ALL,"rep_hero_aalya", 1,2)
AddUnitClass(ALL,"rep_hero_kiyadimundi",1,2)

SetupTeams{
villain = {
team = IMP,
units = 12,
reinforcements = -1,
soldier = { "imp_hero_bobafett", 1,2},
assault = { "imp_hero_darthvader",1,2},
engineer= { "cis_hero_darthmaul", 1,2},
sniper = { "cis_hero_jangofett", 1,2},
officer = { "cis_hero_grievous", 1,2},
special = { "imp_hero_emperor", 1,2},

},
}
AddUnitClass(IMP, "rep_hero_anakin",1,2)
AddUnitClass(IMP, "cis_hero_countdooku",1,2)
There is the team set up section right there.
Tohron

Post by Tohron »

Forgot to mention it, do I just add a command post section to the Script Post Load? If so, what exactly would I be doing? Thanks for the help!
Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Penguin »

only if you want the local CP capturable
$iniSTar

Post by $iniSTar »

hello Im adding a friendly Jawa camp to my Heroes ELI map.

Error received
D:\BF2_ModTools\ToolsFL\Bin\luac.exe: ..\..\common\scripts\MED\MEDg_eli.lua:113: unfinished string near `" '
ERROR[scriptmunge scripts\MED\MEDg_eli.lua]:Could not read input file.ERROR[scriptmunge scripts\MED\MEDg_eli.lua]:Could not read input file. [continuing]
2 Errors 0 Warnings

ERROR[levelpack mission\MEDg_eli.req]:Expecting bracket, but none was found.
File : munged\pc\medg_eli.script.req(1)...

ucft <--
ERROR[levelpack mission\MEDg_eli.req]:Expecting bracket, but none was found.
File : munged\pc\medg_eli.script.req(1)...

ucft <--

2 Errors 0 Warnings

now expecting brackets is Obvious error -and easy enough if you know where they are to be placed.

heres a copy of the LUA and the changes in the file.
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code]SetMaxFlyHeight(40)
SetMaxPlayerFlyHeight(40)

ReadDataFile("sound\\tat.lvl;tat2gcw")
ReadDataFile("SIDE\\des.lvl",
"tat_inf_jawa")

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\all.lvl",
"all_hero_luke_pilot",
"all_hero_hansolo_tat",
"all_hero_leia",
"all_hero_chewbacca",
"tat_hover_landspeeder")

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\imp.lvl",
"imp_hero_darthvader",
"imp_hero_emperor",
"imp_hero_bobafett")

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\rep.lvl ",
"rep_hero_yoda",
"rep_hero_macewindu",
"rep_hero_cloakedanakin",
"rep_hero_aalya",
"rep_hero_kiyadimundi",
"rep_hero_obiwan")

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\cis.lvl",
"cis_hero_grievous",
"cis_hero_darthmaul",
"cis_hero_countdooku",
"cis_hero_jangofett")

--[[ Turrets disabled
ReadDataFile("SIDE\\tur.lvl",
"tur_bldg_chaingun_roof",
"tur_weap_built_gunturret")
SetMemoryPoolSize("MountedTurret", 15)
--]]

--ReadDataFile("SIDE\\snw.lvl", "snw_inf_wampa")

SetupTeams{
hero = {
team = ALL,
units = 12,
reinforcements = -1,
soldier = { "all_hero_hansolo_tat",1,2},
assault = { "all_hero_chewbacca", 1,2},
engineer= { "all_hero_luke_pilot", 1,2},
sniper = { "rep_hero_obiwan", 1,2},
officer = { "rep_hero_yoda", 1,2},
special = { "rep_hero_macewindu", 1,2},
},
}
SetTeamName (3, "jawas")
AddUnitClass (3, "tat_inf_jawa",10,15)
SetUnitCount (3, 15)
AddALGoal(3, "Deathmatch", 100)
SetTeamAsFriend(ATT,3)
SetTeamAsFriend(3,ATT)
SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3)
SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF)" [/code]
So do you see the error I made ? what do I change , can you please copy paste your own maps LUAworking with Jawas so i can compare them?
User avatar
Teancum
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 11080
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Indiana

Post by Teancum »

Open Notepad, hit CTRL+G and type 113 (this will take you to line 113) and see if you forgot a quote or a comma or something.
User avatar
[RDH]Zerted
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 2982
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by [RDH]Zerted »

Delete the very last character ( " ) you posted in the quote section.
$iniSTar

Post by $iniSTar »

ahhhhh I see that now will do! thanks!
Droideka88

Post by Droideka88 »

Off-topic: SiniStar I never heard of a code known as "tat_hover_landspeeder". Shouldn't it be all or imp?
$iniSTar

Post by $iniSTar »

off topic: thats the Luke T65 speeder from ANH which was in the old mod tool pack they used to host on Gametoast , Im adding more to MOS EISLEY DAWN version 2 , including one of your skins droidekka88 , which is finally working after 6 diffrent attempts, now that it works , i can think about making my own re-skins. :greeny:
Hebes24
Sith Master
Sith Master
Posts: 2594
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 5:15 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: In An Epic Space Battle!
Contact:

Post by Hebes24 »

I have a problem. I didn't add locals but It is an issue with localizing. I have an ambush in my map, when I kill one of the ambushers it says "Hebes killed [NULL]". however, I used the same ambush team (atm) for both eras, whickh means it has 2 classes. So I tried to do what you said in the tutorial, but it didn't work. how would I localize that side? :?
gambluh

Post by gambluh »

i have a problem setting up a local spawn. I made the invisible CP, named it LOCAL_SPAWN, subtracted 5 from its height, then placed 7 nodes for the LOCAL_SPAWN path in the nearby area and saved. Then i went to the specified .lua and scrolled to this,
Hidden/Spoiler:
SetupTeams{

rep={
team = REP,
units = 29,
reinforcements = 150,
soldier = {"rep_inf_ep3_rifleman",10, 25},
assault = {"rep_inf_ep3_rocketeer",1, 4},
engineer = {"rep_inf_ep3_engineer",1, 4},
sniper = {"rep_inf_ep3_sniper_felucia",1, 4},
officer = {"rep_inf_ep3_officer",1, 4},
special = {"rep_inf_ep3_jettrooper",1, 4},

},

cis={
team = CIS,
units = 29,
reinforcements = 150,
soldier = {"cis_inf_rifleman",10, 25},
assault = {"cis_inf_rocketeer",1, 4},
engineer = {"cis_inf_engineer",1, 4},
sniper = {"cis_inf_sniper",1, 4},
officer = {"cis_inf_officer",1, 4},
special = {"cis_inf_droideka",1, 4},
}
}
SetTeamName (3, "geonosians")
AddUnitClass (3, "geo_inf_geonosian", 10,15)
SetUnitCount (3, 15)
AddAIGoal(3, "Deathmatch", 100)
SetTeamAsEnemy(ATT,3)
SetTeamAsEnemy(3,ATT)
SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3)
SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF)


and what i added is red then i saved the lua and munged having only COMMON checked and the 2nd drop down menu said "NOTHING" only without quotes. i played map and no locals. what happened?
Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Penguin »

from what youve said everything should have worked. did you set the CP to team 3? and did you add this in the lua?

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\geo.lvl",
"geo_inf_geonosian")
gambluh

Post by gambluh »

I did set CP to team 3 but that 2nd part about QUOTE: ReadDataFile("SIDE\\geo.lvl",
"geo_inf_geonosian")


i did not add. do i put it directly before

SetTeamName (3, "geonosians")
AddUnitClass (3, "geo_inf_geonosian", 10,15)
SetUnitCount (3, 15)
AddAIGoal(3, "Deathmatch", 100)
SetTeamAsEnemy(ATT,3)
SetTeamAsEnemy(3,ATT)
SetTeamAsFriend(DEF,3)
SetTeamAsFriend(3,DEF)
Hebes24
Sith Master
Sith Master
Posts: 2594
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 5:15 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: In An Epic Space Battle!
Contact:

Post by Hebes24 »

You put it with all of the other ReadDataFile's, which should be before the SetupTeams line.
gambluh

Post by gambluh »

ok i've tried that and it still dont work
Hebes24
Sith Master
Sith Master
Posts: 2594
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 5:15 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: In An Epic Space Battle!
Contact:

Post by Hebes24 »

run BF2_modtools.exe and post the bfront2.log
Post Reply