Battlefront: The Clone Wars (build 50411/1)

Working on a new map? Have a new mod out for swbf2?! Post an announcement of the up-coming release here.

Moderator: Moderators

Private Recruit
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:07 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby vocanus » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:39 pm

This will be one of my favourite mods

Corporal
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:00 pm
Projects :: Band
Games I'm Playing :: Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby JAWSFreelao » Mon Oct 31, 2011 4:13 pm

Question: Does this mod have online compatability? Or will there be a custom Server? :?

Space Ranger
User avatar
Posts: 6120
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: The Ninth Circle
Projects :: The Clone Wars
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 TCW Mod

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby THEWULFMAN » Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:01 pm

JAWSFreelao wrote:Question: Does this mod have online compatability? Or will there be a custom Server? :?



Online compatability for people without the mod? No, you have to have the mod to play online. I actually haven't ever been able to set the lua up right so that you can play online at all. Hero Assault works online, and is a ton of fun. Getting it to work online is one of the many bugs I need to iron out.

Private
User avatar
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:46 pm
Location: United States, NY
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Star Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby Dorin » Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:33 pm

I'm a good person to find mapcodes for online compabilty, so if there isn't any online compabilty
I could be able to still play online :funny2:

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4192
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:27 pm
Projects :: Rannoch + Tientia + Tools Programming

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby Fiodis » Mon Oct 31, 2011 8:52 pm

Dorin wrote:I'm a good person to find mapcodes for online compabilty, so if there isn't any online compabilty
I could be able to still play online :funny2:

Online compatability has little to do with map codes. If the map has issues playing on MP and it hasn't been optimized, then even if you load the singleplayer version through a mapcode (which you could actually easily derive by cycling through a few letters in the alphabet) it might still crash.

Space Ranger
User avatar
Posts: 6120
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: The Ninth Circle
Projects :: The Clone Wars
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 TCW Mod

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby THEWULFMAN » Mon Oct 31, 2011 8:54 pm

Fiodis wrote:
Dorin wrote:I'm a good person to find mapcodes for online compabilty, so if there isn't any online compabilty
I could be able to still play online :funny2:

Online compatability has little to do with map codes. If the map has issues playing on MP and it hasn't been optimized, then even if you load the singleplayer version through a mapcode (which you could actually easily derive by cycling through a few letters in the alphabet) it might still crash.



This.

The issue most likely has to do with random stuff used in singleplayer, that somehow still is random in MP. I might make a specific MP Conquest mode, without any random stuff at all.

Corporal
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:00 pm
Projects :: Band
Games I'm Playing :: Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby JAWSFreelao » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:47 am

So If There IS a custom multiplayer Conquest, will the files be included with a download, and have to be dragged in yourself, wouldn't it make more sense to just create a program to do it instead?

Space Ranger
User avatar
Posts: 6120
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: The Ninth Circle
Projects :: The Clone Wars
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 TCW Mod

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby THEWULFMAN » Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:14 pm

JAWSFreelao wrote:So If There IS a custom multiplayer Conquest, will the files be included with a download, and have to be dragged in yourself, wouldn't it make more sense to just create a program to do it instead?



I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean...

Corporal
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:00 pm
Projects :: Band
Games I'm Playing :: Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby JAWSFreelao » Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:29 pm

Pardon My Bad Understanding of modding- But what I'm trying to say is:
If This Mod Were To Come With An EXE (Installation) File, would the files for multiplayer compatibility with other players of the same mod be included?

Jedi High Council
User avatar
Posts: 2302
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:57 pm
Projects :: I should probably start one...
Games I'm Playing :: TOR AC
xbox live or psn: ShadowScorch88

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby Twilight_Warrior » Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:41 pm

Let's put it this way:
The way WULF has set up the random sides and settings of this mod, if you try to play it online, it will break when someone joins. Except for Hero Assault. WULF has to add a "multiplayer mode" to the Conquest script so that the sides won't be random.
Here is a pseudocode example in layman's terms:
Code: Select all
if multiplayer
pick predetermined sides and settings

else
random sides and settings

Either that or he will just add a new game mode along the lines of "Multiplayer Conquest" that you will have to select instead of regular conquest if you want to add the era to your server.


tl;dr
Don't worry about it.

Corporal
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:00 pm
Projects :: Band
Games I'm Playing :: Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby JAWSFreelao » Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:48 pm

Thank You! I'm Kinda New To This Sorta Thing

Space Ranger
User avatar
Posts: 6120
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: The Ninth Circle
Projects :: The Clone Wars
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 TCW Mod

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby THEWULFMAN » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:06 pm

Twilight is correct. Only problem is for some reason, even after putting checks in for MP in all the random stuff it still doesn't work. Thus a multiplayer mode sounds like it would be a lot easier for everyone.

JAWSFreelao wrote:Pardon My Bad Understanding of modding- But what I'm trying to say is:
If This Mod Were To Come With An EXE (Installation) File, would the files for multiplayer compatibility with other players of the same mod be included?




This mod should come with an installer, yes. I had some trouble with trying to make one several months ago, but I've learned a lot since then.

Corporal
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:00 pm
Projects :: Band
Games I'm Playing :: Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby JAWSFreelao » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:09 pm

Well Master Wulf, Always proud to see your developement! :) Also, what started this sudden clone wars craze?

Imperial Systems Expert
User avatar
Posts: 2493
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:15 pm
Projects :: A secret project
Games I'm Playing :: Warframe STO

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby kinetosimpetus » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:13 pm

My guess would be The Clone Wars

Corporal
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:00 pm
Projects :: Band
Games I'm Playing :: Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby JAWSFreelao » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:14 pm

I meant like if it all started with his first Ryloth Nabat map, or something else

Space Ranger
User avatar
Posts: 6120
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: The Ninth Circle
Projects :: The Clone Wars
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 TCW Mod

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby THEWULFMAN » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:16 pm

JAWSFreelao wrote:Well Master Wulf, Always proud to see your developement! :) Also, what started this sudden clone wars craze?



Sudden? I started this mod a year ago. :lol: It built up and up from my first map, Ryloth: Nabat. Then it just snowballed. I started this mod with the exact same Nabat sides. Which, in hindsight was a bad idea. I was young and foolish.

kinetosimpetus wrote:My guess would be The Clone Wars


Probably.

Corporal
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:00 pm
Projects :: Band
Games I'm Playing :: Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby JAWSFreelao » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:17 pm

Haha, I Feel unkowledgeable DX XD
But Moving on, how well has the programming itself been moving lately?

Private
User avatar
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:46 pm
Location: United States, NY
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Star Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby Dorin » Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:23 pm

Oh, well in that case it shouldn't probably be working unless if the map wont run on mp if I type in the mappcode. And offtopic: Jaws, why do you do that "posting" link whenever you do a comment? Just Curious.

Corporal
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:00 pm
Projects :: Band
Games I'm Playing :: Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby JAWSFreelao » Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:30 pm

Dorin wrote:Oh, well in that case it shouldn't probably be working unless if the map wont run on mp if I type in the mappcode. And offtopic: Jaws, why do you do that "posting" link whenever you do a comment? Just Curious.

Its An Accidental mistake, it just does that.It's becauses I'm New and don't know anything

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4192
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:27 pm
Projects :: Rannoch + Tientia + Tools Programming

Re: WIP Star Wars: The Clone Wars Era [Update 9/16 p55]

Postby Fiodis » Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:27 pm

JAWSFreelao wrote:Its An Accidental mistake, it just does that.It's becauses I'm New and don't know anything

Off-topic tip: Before posting, check the contents of your message. Remove any unwanted text/links, then click the "Submit" button once, right above the Upload attachment section. Don't click Preview or Save, just Submit.

I'm sorry if that comes off as condescending; that is certainly not my intention. It's just that it's not like your posts are playing a nasty joke on you, fiddling with your message and all, just because you're new. I've got no idea what could be causing that, but a double-check right before posting might catch it.

PreviousNext

Return to SWBF2 Map/Mod Works In Progress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests