Old Republic map pack Wip [Makeb released]

Working on a new map? Have a new mod out for swbf2?! Post an announcement of the up-coming release here.

Moderator: Moderators

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:01 am
Location: Right behind you :)
Projects :: Star Wars - Battlefront III Legacy
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf GTA CoD LoL KH
xbox live or psn: El_Fabricio#

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby thelegend » Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:33 am

This cantina looks better than the original one. It's more colorful, inviting and more peaceful.

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby ZoomV » Thu Aug 06, 2015 10:25 pm

So I decided to try my hand at doing environment mapping.

And well, I can definitely say I got it to reflect the environment, albeit a little too well.

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


I tried using a alpha layer, but as far as I can tell the alpha layer isn't doing anything. The is reflectivity hardcoded?

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1110
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:58 pm

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby MileHighGuy » Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:17 pm

That is awesome! Did you do an env map or did you just enable the rendertype?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 4965
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA
Projects :: Naboo Selton

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby AQT » Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:56 pm

Simply enabling the render type doesn't do anything.

ZoomV wrote:I tried using a alpha layer, but as far as I can tell the alpha layer isn't doing anything. The is reflectivity hardcoded?

To tone down the shininess, you're going to have to edit the specular decay value of the material to where you applied the environment map. Using a hex ediior, I personally would just replace your current material settings with that from the stock Tantive IV trooper's helmet (which has a reasonably shiny environment map applied to it). You will want to replace the information as shown highlighted here.

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1110
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:58 pm

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby MileHighGuy » Fri Aug 07, 2015 12:00 am

Yeah, I could never get it to work, but the BF2_materials doc says this:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Environment Map (RenderType 6 = Render Chrome)
The environment map render type adds support for a reflection map to give a shiny appearance on a surface.
If an environment map is not specified then it will choose an environment map dynamically at run time.
If the object is static or does not move you should provide an environment map.

Must be wrong.

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby ZoomV » Fri Aug 07, 2015 2:23 pm

AQT wrote:Simply enabling the render type doesn't do anything.

ZoomV wrote:I tried using a alpha layer, but as far as I can tell the alpha layer isn't doing anything. The is reflectivity hardcoded?

To tone down the shininess, you're going to have to edit the specular decay value of the material to where you applied the environment map. Using a hex ediior, I personally would just replace your current material settings with that from the stock Tantive IV trooper's helmet (which has a reasonably shiny environment map applied to it). You will want to replace the information as shown highlighted here.


Thanks that works.

However I ran into a snag. I was using a single global envmap for the world via the light tab in ZE. I tried to add a another envmap for the city via a shadow region. After putting that in the unit only gets a envmap while in the city and not for the rest of the world.

Another issue is I tried hex editing a darktrooper jumppack onto a unit, and succeeded but the pack is using the unit's texture rather than it's own.

EDIT:
I fixed the envmap problem
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


EDIT2:

Commencing weapons test....
testing.....
Image
weapons test successful.

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4761
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby Anakin » Fri Aug 07, 2015 4:46 pm

Very nice. But why did you fix the shiny armor?? It's not a bug, it's a feature. That effect would look awesome for commander chrome from ep7

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby ZoomV » Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:52 pm

So I'm having some trouble. I was building makeb as it's own addon directory, but now that it's almost completed I want to merge it into the TOR addon so users will only have that one folder for the trilogy.

However when I tried to do so, I can't get it to work. Only icebound and treefall appear on the maplist.

I noticed pages and pages of these in the BF2log
Code: Select all
Message Severity: 3
C:\Battlefront2\main\Battlefront2\Source\LuaHelper.cpp(312)
CallProc failed: (none):0: attempt to index a nil value
stack traceback:
   (none): in function `IFObj_fnSetVis'
   (none): in function <(none):677>


my addme.lua looks like this:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Code: Select all
-- recursively merges the second given table into the first given table
function MergeTables( mission, newFlags )
   --for each table entry,
   local array = type({})
   for key,value in pairs(newFlags) do     
      --check for nested tables
      if type(value) == array then
         --mission must have this key as a table too
         if type(mission[key]) ~= array then
            mission[key] = {}
         end
         --merge these two tables recursively
         MergeTables(mission[key], value)
      else
         --the key is a simple variable, so simply store it
         mission[key] = value
      end
   end
end

--Search through the missionlist to find a map that matches mapName,
--then insert the new flags into said entry.
--Use this when you know the map already exists, but this content patch is just
--adding new gamemodes (otherwise you should just add whole new entries to the missionlist)
function AddNewGameModes(missionList, mapName, newFlags)
   for i, mission in missionList do
      if mission.mapluafile == mapName then
         MergeTables(mission, newFlags)
      end
   end
end



--insert totally new maps here:
local sp_n = 0
local mp_n = 0
sp_n = table.getn(sp_missionselect_listbox_contents)

sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1] = {
   isModLevel = 1,
   mapluafile = "BVS%s_%s",
   era_g = 1,
   mode_con_g = 1,    
   change ={
      era_g = { name="Second Galactic War" },
   },
}
mp_n = table.getn(mp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
mp_missionselect_listbox_contents[mp_n+1] = sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1]

sp_n = table.getn(sp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1] = {
   isModLevel = 1,
   mapluafile = "ACW%s_%s",
   era_g = 1,
   mode_con_g = 1,
   change ={
      era_g = { name="Great Galactic War" },
   },
}
mp_n = table.getn(mp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
mp_missionselect_listbox_contents[mp_n+1] = sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1]

sp_n = table.getn(sp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1] = {
   isModLevel = 1,
   mapluafile = "MAK%s_%s",
   era_g = 1,
   mode_con_g = 1,
   --mode_1flag_g = 1,   
   change ={
      era_g = { name="Second Galactic War" },
   },
}
mp_n = table.getn(mp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
mp_missionselect_listbox_contents[mp_n+1] = sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1]

-- associate this mission name with the current downloadable content directory
-- (this tells the engine which maps are downloaded, so you need to include all new mission lua's here)
-- first arg: mapluafile from above
-- second arg: mission script name
-- third arg: level memory modifier.  the arg to LuaScript.cpp: DEFAULT_MODEL_MEMORY_PLUS(x)

AddDownloadableContent("ACW","ACWg_con",4)
AddDownloadableContent("BVS","BVSg_con",4)
AddDownloadableContent("MAK","MAKg_con",4)
--AddDownloadableContent("MAK","MAKg_1flag",4)

-- all done
newEntry = nil
n = nil

-- Now load our core.lvl into the shell to add our localize keys
ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\TOR\\data\\_LVL_PC\\core.lvl")


Nevermind I fixed it. I forget to copy the new addme over. derp.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 4965
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA
Projects :: Naboo Selton

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby AQT » Fri Aug 07, 2015 10:00 pm

That's one awesome looking bounty hunter! :D

ZoomV wrote:Another issue is I tried hex editing a darktrooper jumppack onto a unit, and succeeded but the pack is using the unit's texture rather than it's own.

It sounds like you assigned the jump pack's MATI the wrong MATD value. Remember that the first MATD in your model is 00, the second is 01, and so on. Locate the fifth value after the jump pack's MATI, and simply change it to the value of the MATD corresponding to the texture you want.

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby ZoomV » Sat Aug 08, 2015 10:26 pm

AQT wrote:
ZoomV wrote:Another issue is I tried hex editing a darktrooper jumppack onto a unit, and succeeded but the pack is using the unit's texture rather than it's own.

It sounds like you assigned the jump pack's MATI the wrong MATD value. Remember that the first MATD in your model is 00, the second is 01, and so on. Locate the fifth value after the jump pack's MATI, and simply change it to the value of the MATD corresponding to the texture you want.

I have no idea how to do that

Additionally I have a issue of this flamethrower weapon. I want it to deal minimal initial damage with a strong DoT effect. However no matter how much I nerf this thing it keeps one-shotting everything. It's kinda cheesy to walk into a whole pack of enemies, and then press one button and they all die instantly.

weapon ODF
Hidden/Spoiler:
Code: Select all
[WeaponClass]
ClassParent         = "com_weap_inf_flamethrower"

[Properties]

AnimationBank          = "rifle"
OrdnanceName        = "imp_weap_champion_flame_ord"

HeatRecoverRate     = "0.15"
HeatThreshold       = "0.01"

SalvoCount          = "10"
ShotsPerSalvo       = "1"
SalvoDelay          = "0.1"
InitialSalvoDelay   = "0.2"
SalvoTime           = "0.0"

TriggerSingle       = "1"
ShotDelay           = "0.1"
HeatPerShot         = "0.32"
//MaxPressedTime    = "2.25"

HUDTag      = "hud_fireshot"
OffhandWeapon           = 1
NoFirstPersonFireAnim    = 1

// to make it work - Mike Z
FireAnim = 1
InitialSalvoDelay = "0.21" // 7 frames
InstantPlayFireAnim = 1

ZoomMin         = "1.5"
ZoomMax         = "1.5"
ZoomRate        = "0.0"


RoundsPerClip       = "-1"
ReloadTime          = "1.7"
ShotDelay           = "0.41"
TriggerSingle       = "1"

HeatRecoverRate      = "0.32"
HeatThreshold         = "0.20"
//HeatPerShot         = "1.0"

//************************************************
//*******************   SOUND    *****************
//************************************************
FireSound           = "flame_on"
ReloadSound         = "com_weap_inf_reload_med"
ChangeModeSound     = "com_weap_inf_equip_med"
FireEmptySound      = "com_weap_inf_ammo_empty"
WeaponChangeSound   = "com_weap_inf_equip_med"
JumpSound           = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_jump"
LandSound           = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_land"
RollSound           = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_roll"
//ProneSound          = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_lie"
SquatSound          = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_squat"
//StandSound          = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_getup"



Ordnance ODF
Hidden/Spoiler:
Code: Select all
[OrdnanceClass]

ClassLabel          = "emitterordnance"

[Properties]
ImpactEffectWater   = "com_sfx_watersplash_ord"

ConeLength          = "15"
ConeAngle           = "45"
FirstRadius         = "2.0"
MaxTargets          = "10"  // Max number of targets to hit. Chaining is off so the damage will be split between the number of targets
NoChaining          = "1"   // No chaining - all bolts coming from the attacker

//Explosion           =  "com_weap_inf_incinerator_exp"

//OrdnanceSound         = "com_weap_launcher_energy_dumbfire"

Damage              = "5"  // This is the min damage. Even if the initial damage is split between the number of targets, it will never go below this number for each target
MaxDamage           = "5" // This is the max damage
JumpDeduction       = "0"  // No jump deduction. This is for chaining only
DamageThreshold     = "0"  // Always do damage (no threshold)
MaxJumpDistance     = "0"  // No max jump distance because the chaining is off

VehicleScale        = "0.1"
ShieldScale         = "1.0"
PersonScale         = "1.0"
AnimalScale         = "1.0"
DroidScale          = "1.0"
BuildingScale       = "0.1"

//Push                = "0.0"
//LightningEffect     = "com_sfx_lightning"
//LightningEffectScale = "0.25"
//NoTargetLightningEffectCount = "5"  // The number of ligthning effects to display when the ordinance has no targets to hit
//NoTargetLightningEffectRandomSpread = "0.4"  // The random rotation spread the ligthning effects does when the ordinance has no targets to hit

AffectFriends = "0"  // default is 1. should the ordnance affect friends.
AffectEnemies = "1"  // default is 1. should the ordnance affect enemies.

PlayEffectOnOwnerAimer = "com_sfx_weap_flamethrower_ord"
SmolderDamageRate = "5.0" // default is 0.  the damage rate for smoldering targets

SmolderEffectTimer = 6.0

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_l_forearm"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_r_forearm"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_head"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_ribcage"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_smoke"
SmolderBone = "bone_ribcage"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_pelvis"

SmolderVanishDeath = "0"

BonusAmplification  = "0.25"            //how much more damage will be done when team_bonus_blaster_amplication is on

Corporal
User avatar
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:05 am
Location: Connecticut
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: BF1+2 stronghold
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby Isaac1138 » Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:23 pm

I like that trooper's shinyness

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby ZoomV » Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:29 pm

Map is finished
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

Rebel Sergeant
User avatar
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:38 pm
Location: Jundland wastes, Argentina
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront II KOTOR

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby Generalfacu » Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:37 pm

ZoomV wrote:Map is finished
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

Whoa...trippy...hahaha it looks really cool.

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby ZoomV » Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:09 pm

Generalfacu wrote:
ZoomV wrote:Map is finished
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

Whoa...trippy...hahaha it looks really cool.

It was the closest I could get to the way SWTOR's maps are done. I redid the Icebound and Treefall maps as well.

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


Honestly if I could just get like 2k resolution top down screenshots from ZE I could probably match SWTOR's map aesthetic. Unfortunately my monitor isn't even 2k resolution.

Rebel Sergeant
User avatar
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:38 pm
Location: Jundland wastes, Argentina
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront II KOTOR

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby Generalfacu » Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:41 pm

Oh, now I see what you did. Haven't played SWTOR for quite a long time. Actually, I believe that with the background of the battle it'll be perfect.

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Last edited by Generalfacu on Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby ZoomV » Sun Aug 16, 2015 5:05 pm

Look guys! I am actually making progress
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

At this juncture the map itself is completed, I'm in the process of making CP position tweeks for balance and gameplay reasons. I'm trying to make sure it's at Treefall standard or better.

Field Commander
User avatar
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:41 am
Location: The Flatlands of Canada
Projects :: Engineering Degree

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby jedimoose32 » Wed Aug 19, 2015 12:34 am

Looks very nice! :thumbs:

Corporal
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:58 pm
Projects :: Just some little things
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and EAW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby Sandtrooper956 » Wed Aug 19, 2015 2:43 pm

Wow I just love that Blue-White color scheme, it looks great!

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby ZoomV » Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:54 am

Makeb should be done soon, balancing is still being a pill. Asymmetrical map design is hard.


Unit changes for makeb:
  • Three new Hero units have been added: Havoc Squad C.O. (republic - Makeb, Belsavis), Grand Champion of the Great Hunt (imperial - Makeb), and Cipher 8 (imperial - Belsavis)
  • Black-ops Troopers have had their health slightly reduced.
  • SpecForce Vanguard's Thumper weapon now has limited ammo. 48 shots with 12 shot clips.
  • SpecForce Vanguard's High Impact Bolt now has unlimited clips.
  • The damage dealt by SpecForce Commando's Explosive Round has been reduced.
  • Concussion Grenade Launcher's ordnance explosion has increased shake.
  • Republic and Imperial Engineers have slightly increased health.
  • Shotguns now kick when firing.
  • Republic Soldiers, Snipers, and Heavy Troopers are now reflection mapped.
  • The texture of red and yellow lasers has been modified.
  • Sticky Grenades should now stick to almost all objects.
  • Non-playable Jedi units are now in play on Alderaan.

Corporal
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:58 pm
Projects :: Just some little things
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and EAW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Postby Sandtrooper956 » Mon Aug 31, 2015 4:44 pm

ZoomV wrote:Makeb should be done soon, balancing is still being a pill. Asymmetrical map design is hard.


Unit changes for makeb:
  • Three new Hero units have been added: Havoc Squad C.O. (republic - Makeb, Belsavis), Grand Champion of the Great Hunt (imperial - Makeb), and Cipher 8 (imperial - Belsavis)
  • Black-ops Troopers have had their health slightly reduced.
  • SpecForce Vanguard's Thumper weapon now has limited ammo. 48 shots with 12 shot clips.
  • SpecForce Vanguard's High Impact Bolt now has unlimited clips.
  • The damage dealt by SpecForce Commando's Explosive Round has been reduced.
  • Concussion Grenade Launcher's ordnance explosion has increased shake.
  • Republic and Imperial Engineers have slightly increased health.
  • Shotguns now kick when firing.
  • Republic Soldiers, Snipers, and Heavy Troopers are now reflection mapped.
  • The texture of red and yellow lasers has been modified.
  • Sticky Grenades should now stick to almost all objects.
  • Non-playable Jedi units are now in play on Alderaan.

Sorry for asking, but do you have a release date? As much as I want to play this, I also want to review it. Things have been pretty stale lately, making it hard to find anything to review on my channel. And Filefront getting shut down doesn't help.

PreviousNext

Return to SWBF2 Map/Mod Works In Progress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest