Game Mode: Deathmatch (dm) (Unstable in MP)

New maps and mods are coming out quickly. If you release something (even a beta) please post it here. Be sure to give details in the topic such as Map/Mod name and version

Moderator: Moderators

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2977
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Location: USA
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Game Mode: Deathmatch (dm) (Unstable in MP)

Postby [RDH]Zerted » Sun May 07, 2006 4:50 am

Deathmatch Game Mode (dm)
by [RDH]Zerted

Important
-This game mode appears to be unstable in MP. A fix is being worked on... Well, not really any more. If you really want the mode fixed, email me/PM me/post here and I make another attempt at it.


Download Link 1:
Website -> Folder -> Zipped Map (1.6MB), Source Code (8.2K)

Two Important Changes
-Deathmatch is no longer confusing to play and plays as one would expect it to.
-By default, units are moved onto team 3 instead of team 0.

Readme:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Deathmatch Game Mode (dm)
by [RDH]Zerted
Feb. 17th, 2008

Demo Map And Source Code Links:
Link 1: http://ouch.rh.rit.edu/swbf2/
Mirrors: (none at the moment)

Important:
-This map uses the game mode dm. If it doesn't show up on the map selection screen, you need to download a modded shell.lvl.

Objective:
-Frag as many enemy units as possible.

Other Game Mode Notes:
-Use Conquest's settings to set the bot amount.
-Use Conquest's settings to set the time limit.
-Players can freely swap from one 'side' to another.
-A unit is automatically killed when it kills another friendly unit.
-This game mode is stable. Feel free to include it in any maps you are making.
-There is a global reinforcement count. It is displayed at the top of the screen.
-The displayed timer shows how many seconds until the newly spawned, friendly units turn into enemy units (and thus start attacking).

Tips:
-Never shoot a friendly (blue) player.
-Don't use detpacks
-Don't use mines

Possible Future Changes:
-Determine if BatchChangeTeams() would make team swaps faster.
-Directly index players by ID instead of looping through all players.
-Figure out a way to do forced spawning online.

Gametoast Topic: viewtopic.php?f=35&t=5217
Author's Email: zerted+SWBF2_DMD@gmail.com
Author's XFire: zerted

Change Log:
-Now only uses enemy and firendly team colors.
-Point values changed slightly.
-The 'spawned team swap' timer has been reduced from 15 to 10.
-By default, all enemy units are on team 3. The last version had them on team 0.
Ideas, Questions, Comments, Suggestions?
Last edited by [RDH]Zerted on Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:47 pm, edited 9 times in total.

yoda_does_yoga

RE: Game Mode: Deathmatch (dm)

Postby yoda_does_yoga » Sun May 07, 2006 4:59 am

umm... looks good D/Ling, BUT... what happens if i just put the map in the addon folder without the shell? Will it still work??

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2977
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Location: USA
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

RE: Game Mode: Deathmatch (dm)

Postby [RDH]Zerted » Sun May 07, 2006 5:07 am

Without the shell, the Deathmatch mode won't be displayed in the IA or MP map selection menus. You could run/add the map ( DMDg_dm ) through the ingame chat commands or by using a batch file. The example loading picture will be display with or without the shell (unless you delete the folder).

Aussie_Irishman

RE: Game Mode: Deathmatch (dm)

Postby Aussie_Irishman » Sun May 07, 2006 5:54 am

with the cp's, couldnt u just put normal cp's in, but take away the capture region?

AJay

pinioncorp

Postby pinioncorp » Sun May 07, 2006 6:13 am

_____________________________________________________________
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯


Nice work! What you should do is create a shell to be used as a base. Put in a large variety of types into it so that everyone can download the one shell and everyone can use those types.

_____________________________________________________________
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

yoda_does_yoga

Postby yoda_does_yoga » Sun May 07, 2006 7:43 am

kk... So what do i have to do with the shell?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2977
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Location: USA
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Postby [RDH]Zerted » Sun May 07, 2006 12:19 pm

didn't think of disableing capturing the CPs in ZeroEdit.

rename [Game Folder]\GameData\DATA\_LVL_PC\shell.lvl to [Game Folder]\GameData\DATA\_LVL_PC\shell.lvl.backup. Put the downloaded shell in [Game Folder]\GameData\DATA\_LVL_PC

yoyam

Postby yoyam » Sun May 07, 2006 8:26 pm

sounds awesome man very appropiate to make a deathmatch mode
haha it not like anyone was working together in the first place why not just make it so we can kill everyone :lol:

Tuskenjedi

Postby Tuskenjedi » Sun May 07, 2006 10:02 pm

lol, back to the "what do you miss most about bf1 and why" rant. You did have a point though.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11087
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Postby Teancum » Sun May 07, 2006 11:05 pm

Maybe it was just me, but it seemed more like a 'everyone vs the player' than a free for all. I didn't see imps fighting imps. Still that's better than nothing.

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1119
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 8:52 pm

Postby Ace_Azzameen_5 » Mon May 08, 2006 7:19 pm

The AI do fight, but I think that they prioritize the human player. I'm pretty sure that they do online too.

yellowcomet

Postby yellowcomet » Mon May 08, 2006 8:45 pm

ya where do i install the shell???

-----------------------------------------

nvm i got it. really nice.
Last edited by yellowcomet on Mon May 08, 2006 9:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2977
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Location: USA
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Postby [RDH]Zerted » Mon May 08, 2006 9:10 pm

1) rename [Game Folder]\GameData\DATA\_LVL_PC\shell.lvl to [Game Folder]\GameData\DATA\_LVL_PC\shell.lvl.backup
2) put the downloaded shell in [Game Folder]\GameData\DATA\_LVL_PC\

yellowcomet

Postby yellowcomet » Mon May 08, 2006 9:18 pm

is it still possible to make custom sides for the campaign, or is that impossible

(i know nothing about modding, im sorry)

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2977
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Location: USA
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Postby [RDH]Zerted » Tue May 09, 2006 2:11 am

sure, nothing I changed would prevent someone from doing that

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1119
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 8:52 pm

Postby Ace_Azzameen_5 » Tue May 09, 2006 4:28 pm

Just FYI: You can play online with the altered shell . . .unless Zerted; Did you get Kaiburr Wraiths to use your DM mode?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2977
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Location: USA
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Postby [RDH]Zerted » Tue May 09, 2006 6:45 pm

Ace_Azzameen_5 wrote:...Did you get Kaiburr Wraiths to use your DM mode?
Are you talking about the KW clan? What does it matter if they play DM?

Captain
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:08 pm

Postby BF2-Master » Tue May 09, 2006 7:22 pm

Hey, Zerted, could you try modding this to include Coruscant, Mygeeto & Naboo to use Assault Mode & Jabba's Palace to have Hunt Mode. These scripts were found hidden a while ago. The Assault scripts might need to be edited to remove Kit Fisto & Asajj Ventress though.

(NOTE: You're probably ready to type that I should've PMed him. I know, just thought I'd let everybody else know of my idea too!)

Tuskenjedi

Postby Tuskenjedi » Wed May 10, 2006 2:22 pm

Umm, sorry Zerted, but could you change it so the addon maps are yellow again, or just tell me what to edit in the shell so it gets yellow, because my eyes aren't the best and I need to tell addon and regular apart.

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1119
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 8:52 pm

Postby Ace_Azzameen_5 » Wed May 10, 2006 3:06 pm

I meant on thier server. I played multiplayer on the server wtih your shell, sans crash.

Next

Return to SWBF2 Released Maps & Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest