How to scale my weapon mesh?

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Private Recruit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:03 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby PilotHawk » Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:24 am

Hello guys

I've converted some weapons models to swbf 2, but in-game they are huge, I've heard about creating a .option file in order to scale them proprely or scaling them manualy in XSI modtool. How i can do for both method? Plus, I'm not familiar with .option file :P

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4530
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby Anakin » Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:49 pm

Now we're gonna learn about the search function :P

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=9887&p=180537&hilit=scale+mesh+option

option files are pretty easy. Let's say you have your name.msh, so just add a new file in the same directory name.msh.option. and then you put your parameter in there.
But there is a .option creator tool as far as i remember, too.

Private Recruit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:03 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby PilotHawk » Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:19 pm

wait, i tested the following thing:

my msh is named: "rep_inf_dc15s" I've created a .msh option file with the excact same name and inserted my value. It didn't worked.

Here is what i tried:

-scale 1.2
-scale 1.0
-scale 0.5
-scale 0.25

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2535
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:32 am
Location: Pizza Land
Projects :: TOR GCWII GCW1035
xbox live or psn: Johnny_Sciroppo

Re: How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby Delta-1035 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:46 pm

PilotHawk wrote:It didn't worked.

It should have worked.

Just take a random ***.msh.option file from the stock assets, rename it, open it, delete everything inside and add -scale 0.whatever. It has to work.

Private Recruit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:03 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby PilotHawk » Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:18 pm

Delta-1035 wrote:
PilotHawk wrote:It didn't worked.

It should have worked.

Just take a random ***.msh.option file from the stock assets, rename it, open it, delete everything inside and add -scale 0.whatever. It has to work.


I re -re tryed and it didn't worked, i checked 10 times if it was the right name, and yes it was. :? Of course i deleted the old content of it.

Now, I'm thinking that it is my mesh conversion the real problem...But however the model works fine in-game! I tried with another weapon the last few hours and i have the exact issue. Is there any weapons templates? Like the colone one by pysch0fred's. I will see what's the size of swbf weapons and rescale manually with XSI :D - (i will need o find a way to do it, I'm still new!)

Thanks for the help :)

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4530
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby Anakin » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:46 am

Since you already have zerotools you can import a stock weapon as reference

Private Recruit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:03 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby PilotHawk » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:22 pm

Anakin wrote:Since you already have zerotools you can import a stock weapon as reference


Thx for the trick it worked :D

But now the only prolem is that the model is not using the two hp: "hp_active" and "hp_fire" :?

Resistance Leader
User avatar
Posts: 4745
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Projects :: Shadow of War
Games I'm Playing :: Dark Souls + BF4
xbox live or psn: Marth8880

Re: How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby Marth8880 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:23 pm

PilotHawk wrote:But now the only prolem is that the model is not using the two hp: "hp_active" and "hp_fire" :?

You actually don't need hp_active, you can just position the weapon to where the trigger meets the handle with the center of the grid in XSI, like so:

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

Image


Additionally, make sure that hp_fire is a child of the parent object that you select when you export the mesh. For example, in this case, I select DummyRoot when I export the mesh. Notice how hp_fire is a child object of it in the hierarchy:

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

Private Recruit
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:03 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf 2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: How to scale my weapon mesh?

Postby PilotHawk » Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:05 am

So my weapon model and my hp should be a child of Dummyroot, right?

Also how did you get the texture showingup in XSI? I know how add texture in order to work in-game but not in XSI :)

Thanks.

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest