XSI ZETools

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Marth8880
Resistance Leader
Posts: 5005
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Projects :: EVERYWHERE + Project Infiltrator
Games I'm Playing :: Silent Hill 2
xbox live or psn: Marth8880
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Marth8880 »

Argh! I cannot wait for this! :runaway:
User avatar
The Nasal Abyss
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:55 pm
Projects :: Currently Working on an Indie Game
Games I'm Playing :: Splatoon 2
xbox live or psn: Stm: Tight Verbage

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by The Nasal Abyss »

ANDE, you are awesome. That's a crazy amount of optimization compared to previous updates. This plug-in will be a must-have for every Battlefront modder.
Webster27
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:14 am
Projects :: The Republic Commando Mod
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Germany

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Webster27 »

Sry to all , but I'm still pretty Noobish and I wanted to ask if someone could tell me in an (quite) easy language what this programm can do? :oops: If it´s to hard or you don´t want to explain I understand, just I want to get into Modeling and animation for BF too. Sry again :oops: :(
User avatar
Cerfon Rournes
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1558
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm
Projects :: WIP. I will reveal what it is later on..
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2-SWRC
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cerfon Rournes »

No need to be sorry. :)
This tool ANDE is working on is able to export msh files without the Pandemic exporter. That means that if he gets it released, we would be able to export player models and normal mshs without downloading the trial versions of XSI or without using Mshex.
Last edited by Cerfon Rournes on Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

I noticed a problem with some older templates I released so I updated them to work better with the ZE Tools addon.

Contents:
first_person.xsi
tentacles.xsi
unit_lowrez.xsi

Download:
http://www.mediafire.com/?vhlvavcb04knwyu

Extract the *.xsi template files to:
C:\users\%username%\Softimage\%XSI_version%\Addons\XSIZETools\Resources\Templates
and overwrite the originals.

These new templates eliminate the import dialogue and errors that appear when importing the template through ZE Tools in XSI 5.11 (I'm thinking this was caused by dotxsi 3.6 files). I also fixed the texture paths to point to the BF2_modtools.

EDIT
Can someone explain the cockpit.xsi template please? Is it supposed to be a turret example in 1st person or what? I can get you guys an actual cockpit template if you want.
Webster27
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:14 am
Projects :: The Republic Commando Mod
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Germany

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Webster27 »

Thx Cerfon ! :) Now I understand it !!
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1259
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

ANDEWEGET wrote:@All: thanks for the nice comments!
@TNA: Looking back now the previous algorithm was just horrible, the current one is decent. ;)
@Ace: Thanks, Ill update them with the next release. Added the AT-ST to the walkers expansion, too.
I believe the cockpit template was created by DUCK, Im not sure what its supposed to be. :D


@All people with the modtool:
Please go to File>Preferences>Scripting and check if some sort of python is in the Script Language Drop-down list and report back. ;)
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

Yep.

Softimage Mod Tool 7.5
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
User avatar
Cerfon Rournes
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1558
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm
Projects :: WIP. I will reveal what it is later on..
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2-SWRC
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cerfon Rournes »

Weird, that's not in mine. :?
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

I use AutoDesk 7.5 as well.
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

Looks like you don't have Python installed on your machine.
User avatar
Cerfon Rournes
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1558
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm
Projects :: WIP. I will reveal what it is later on..
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2-SWRC
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cerfon Rournes »

What version do I install?
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

I just use ActivePython 2.6 from ActiveState, it has everything you need in a single download which includes Python and the PyWin32 extensions.
User avatar
Cerfon Rournes
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1558
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm
Projects :: WIP. I will reveal what it is later on..
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2-SWRC
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cerfon Rournes »

Thanks, last question.
It has two downloads, 32bit ,x86; and 64bit, x64. My computer is 64bit and x86. Which one would I install? :o
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

Try the x86 package first, if it doesn't work then try the x64 package. :)
User avatar
Cerfon Rournes
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1558
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm
Projects :: WIP. I will reveal what it is later on..
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2-SWRC
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cerfon Rournes »

Thanks for all of the helpful info Ace! :)
EDIT
I don't see any changes in Autodesk. I'll try a system restart.
EDIT
That did not work. I just uninstalled Autodesk, and still no change. :(
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

I don't know what to tell you, this wasn't supposed to be a complicated process, just a 'download and install'. Try going through the standard Vista/Windows 7 procedures such as 'run as administrator' etc. I can't help you further because I use XP 32bit where everything just works out of the box.

You could just try the Python 2.7.2 Windows X86-64 Installer on this page and see if it works out better for you.
User avatar
Cerfon Rournes
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1558
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm
Projects :: WIP. I will reveal what it is later on..
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2-SWRC
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cerfon Rournes »

It's still not loading up. :? Is there a way to load python from Autodesk?
User avatar
Cerfon Rournes
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1558
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm
Projects :: WIP. I will reveal what it is later on..
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2-SWRC
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cerfon Rournes »

I'm trying them now. Thanks again Ace. :)
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1259
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

Please report back what you downloaded/installed if you get it working, so I can add a little tutorial/link to the first page. ;)
Post Reply