Setting up critical hit locations

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 3294
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Setting up critical hit locations

Postby AceMastermind » Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:52 pm

Set it up like you would a collision primitive, it needs to be geometry.

Example: imp_walk_atst.msh
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

imp_walk_atst.odf - HitLocation property:
Code: Select all
HitLocation    = "p_crit_hit 4.0"

odf_guide.doc wrote:HitLocation – The location of its critical hit point. The number at the end determines its multiplier. For instance, the “4” means this location causes 4x the normal damage


An 'Argument 0' error on export is typical when exporting primitives but this does not affect the exported msh.

For more information on how to set up collision primitives please see the art_guide.doc included with the BF2_modtools documentation.

Master Bounty Hunter
User avatar
Posts: 1649
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:53 pm
Location: New York, USA
Projects :: WIP. I will reveal what it is later on..
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2-SWRC
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Setting up critical hit locations

Postby Cerfon Rournes » Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:12 pm

Great find, thanks Ace. :) I'm sure this will be very useful in the future. :thumbs:

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: STALKER!
Projects :: Star Wars Battlefront - Tides of War
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 RC EAW
xbox live or psn: I have ps4

Re: Setting up critical hit locations

Postby ARCTroopaNate » Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:24 pm

Pretty cool Ace. I need to try this some day, could make for some interesting gameplay...

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FiftyAuto and 2 guests