Need help applying gloss to a model

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Sergeant Major
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:52 pm
Location: Milky Way
Projects :: Star Wars A New Frontier
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 2005
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Need help applying gloss to a model

Postby LitFam » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:06 pm

I am reading this tut and I can't figure out this part: "In order to apply gloss to a surface you have to hex edit the 5th place flag of the material to either "80 or "A0", I don't know if there is any difference between these two." - This is under the gloss part. If anyone could explain this with pictures I would be grateful!

tut link: viewtopic.php?p=466539#p466539
Last edited by LitFam on Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4695
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: Need help applying gloss to a model

Postby Anakin » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:12 pm

DarthD.U.C.K. is a Kind of GT god (when I come to GT he was the one and only GT VIP and it's a pity his old rank picture is lost). If he says he does not know if there is a difference I don't think there is anybody else how can tell you exactly if there is.
Maybe ande, he worked a lot with the mesh files when he made his zetools.

Sergeant Major
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:52 pm
Location: Milky Way
Projects :: Star Wars A New Frontier
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 2005
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Need help applying gloss to a model

Postby LitFam » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:26 pm

I think he means he doesn’t know difference between the two values 80 or A0 only.

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3460
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: Need help applying gloss to a model

Postby AceMastermind » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:06 pm

I don't know what anakin is going on about but this info is documented and here is the difference:
80 = Specular
A0 = Per-Pixel Lighting + Specular

and there are 96 different combinations of specular, not just those 2.
You should try different ones until you are satisfied with the result. :)

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA
Projects :: Naboo Selton

Re: Need help applying gloss to a model

Postby AQT » Wed Jan 17, 2018 1:21 am

And to apply it, look here: viewtopic.php?p=279620#p279620

See the 04 in yellow? Just use 80 or A0 instead. That's the position it needs to go in. If you still need actual screenshots, just say so.

EDIT
Here are screenshots anyway. First up, this is from the stock Rebel Vanguard model:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

See the highlighted 80? That's where it's supposed to go. It's in the 5th place after B. A0 can be used in place of 80 as well, as mentioned previously.

And finally, this is from the stock Dark Trooper model:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

It uses 04 in the 6th place after B. It does the same thing as 80 in the 5th place.

Remember, this only enables specular (or "gloss"). You will still need to create a proper specular map texture that goes in the alpha layer of your .tga file, just like how the stock Rebel Vanguard and Dark Trooper have one. Also, if you get no shine, using the specular decay/color values from a model that does will do the trick: viewtopic.php?p=393519#p393519

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4695
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: Need help applying gloss to a model

Postby Anakin » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:29 am

AceMastermind wrote:I don't know what anakin is going on about but this info is documented and here is the difference:
80 = Specular
A0 = Per-Pixel Lighting + Specular

and there are 96 different combinations of specular, not just those 2.
You should try different ones until you are satisfied with the result. :)


Woops, my fault. i didn't know that this is known.
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


@AQT: i think LitFam was interessted in pictures of the results from those two values... :bowdown:

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA
Projects :: Naboo Selton

Re: Need help applying gloss to a model

Postby AQT » Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:58 pm

Anakin wrote:i think LitFam was interessted in pictures of the results from those two values... :bowdown:

Topic Title wrote:Need help applying gloss to a model

If that were the case, then he would just test the differences himself since it's just a simple change. But he's really asking for assistance on how to even make the change with a hex editor.

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest