Open .MSH Files in XSI? [Solved]

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

High General
User avatar
Posts: 821
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Twitter @_KrypticElement
Games I'm Playing :: COD SWBF
xbox live or psn: KrypticcElementt

Open .MSH Files in XSI? [Solved]

Postby modmaster13 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:21 pm

Hey guys, I'm very new to XSI and I'm trying to open the Phase 1 Clone Jet Trooper .msh file in XSI (I want to get the Phase 1 Jet Trooper jetpack onto a Phase 2 Clone), but it's giving me error messages when I go to File>Import>Model

What should I do from here?
Last edited by modmaster13 on Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Resistance Leader
User avatar
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Projects :: EVERYWHERE + Zero Munge + TCW
Games I'm Playing :: The Forest
xbox live or psn: Marth8880

Re: Open .MSH Files in XSI?

Postby Marth8880 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:45 pm

File > Import > Model is for importing EMDL files.

You want ANDEWEGET's XSI ZETools plugin: viewtopic.php?f=36&t=26664

High General
User avatar
Posts: 821
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Twitter @_KrypticElement
Games I'm Playing :: COD SWBF
xbox live or psn: KrypticcElementt

Re: Open .MSH Files in XSI?

Postby modmaster13 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:53 pm

Okay, I downloaded ZETools and I got the Special Units Template Pack (assuming I'll need it for the Jet Trooper), where should I put the files that come with the template? (all_inf_marksperson.xsi, rep_inf_arctrooper_SWBF1.xsi, special_units.tcnt)

Lance Corporal
User avatar
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 11:31 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA
Projects :: A New Frontier Era Mod
Games I'm Playing :: All teh BFs

Re: Open .MSH Files in XSI?

Postby Calrissian97 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:40 pm

Those templates are just for editing and stuff. You don't actually need them for what you want to do. So long as the plugin is installed, you should be good to go for importing with it.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 821
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Twitter @_KrypticElement
Games I'm Playing :: COD SWBF
xbox live or psn: KrypticcElementt

Re: Open .MSH Files in XSI?

Postby modmaster13 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:52 pm

Calrissian97 wrote:Those templates are just for editing and stuff. You don't actually need them for what you want to do. So long as the plugin is installed, you should be good to go for importing with it.


I see, thank you.

Where in XSI would I go to import the MSH?

Lance Corporal
User avatar
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 11:31 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA
Projects :: A New Frontier Era Mod
Games I'm Playing :: All teh BFs

Re: Open .MSH Files in XSI?

Postby Calrissian97 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:08 pm

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

You'd import it from the plugin drop-down menu

High General
User avatar
Posts: 821
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Twitter @_KrypticElement
Games I'm Playing :: COD SWBF
xbox live or psn: KrypticcElementt

Re: Open .MSH Files in XSI?

Postby modmaster13 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:47 pm

That did the trick! Thank you guys for the help!

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest