Mesh Viewer V1.2.4

Releasing the source files for your mod or map? Post em' here. (Applies to both SWBF1 & SWBF2)

Moderator: Moderators

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Mesh Viewer V1.2.4

Postby Anakin » Sun Jan 08, 2017 7:56 am

Mesh Viewer


Image


yes you read right, this is the first release version of my Mesh Viewer. Most of you may wonder why i'm working on this project since there is already a working MeshViewer. So let me point you out my reasons for this new Mesh viewer.
1) The old one was just a beta it crash from time to time depending on the file you want to open. My one will show you a error message and continues working.
2) The other viewer was limited to pitch and yaw. This viewer allows you to rotate how ever you like, but you can still limit the rotation direction.
3) There are no side widgets you don't want to have there (Mesh List).
4) Cloth can be displayed
5) light support with specular map
6) You can view the source code

finally i'm gonna work on more features, but i think i got a state that can be released as a first full version.

source
download
updater

I hope you understand that i don't have so much time to share all new features with you. So there are 3 update channels:
1) deferred cannel: that's here you can download everything you need in a rar file from my dropbox
2) current channel: i update more often the release folder in my repository. You need git to get this version (see tutorial at the bottom)
3) insider channel: you need to build the tool from the source by your own. Explanation in the WIP Thread

How to get current cannel:
Hidden/Spoiler:
go to https://git-scm.com/download and download git for your system. On my test system i'll use Windows 32 bit.
just use default settings

now download the bat file from the link above (updater) and put it somewhere you want the meshViewer to be located. And run the bat file.
whenever you like to update just run the bat file again.
Last edited by Anakin on Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:34 am, edited 9 times in total.

Corporal
User avatar
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:20 am
Location: Dantooine
Projects :: -Secret-
Games I'm Playing :: SBF2 - Empire at War
xbox live or psn: Captain CT108

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby CT108 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:47 am

I downloaded the tool, it looks very cool ! But there's one thing : when I launch this mesh viewer, I have this error :
"This application failed to start beacause it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "windows" in "".
Reinstalling the application may fix this problem"

The app is in my "download" file, like the mesh v0.8 (the old one works fine in the download file). I've also reinstalled the app. So what's wrong, and how can fix this please ? I really want to use your tool Anakin so please help me. Thank you !

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby Anakin » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:12 am

yeah i changed the library. Please try this: https://www.dropbox.com/s/kr7sc15tqd8fd ... s.dll?dl=0

Fleet Commander
User avatar
Posts: 1949
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:58 pm
Projects :: Star Wars Battlefront Legacy

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby ggctuk » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:37 am

Avast seems to think this is a virus.

Also, I'm getting the same issue above when I can run it, and I did download the qwindows.dll you provided.

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby Anakin » Sun Jan 08, 2017 12:21 pm

the file does not fix it??

Does everyone have this problem?? I'll upload the whole Qt library to see if there is any dll that can fix it. For me it works just fine. Maybe there is something in my enviroment variables pointing to the right things

Private Second Class
User avatar
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:36 am
Location: Germany
Projects :: Caron Prime - Liberation Action
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 SWRC

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby Luke » Sun Jan 08, 2017 12:36 pm

I also have the same problem like the others.

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby Anakin » Sun Jan 08, 2017 2:49 pm

Found an thread in the Qt forum. Can you please try this:

..\MeshViewer.exe
..\*.dll
..\platforms\qwindows.dll

Fleet Commander
User avatar
Posts: 1949
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:58 pm
Projects :: Star Wars Battlefront Legacy

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby ggctuk » Sun Jan 08, 2017 2:57 pm

Anakin wrote:Found an thread in the Qt forum. Can you please try this:

..\MeshViewer.exe
..\*.dll
..\platforms\qwindows.dll


That works. Thanks :)

EDIT: Pretty neat MSH viewer.

A few observations:

-Transparency needs to be added in.
-Some meshes don't appear at all.
-Some models with addons attached do not display the addons correctly.

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby Anakin » Sun Jan 08, 2017 3:04 pm

great :D

can you tell me what assets do not work?? For me everything works.
Transparency will be added once i got the light working :runaway:

Fleet Commander
User avatar
Posts: 1949
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:58 pm
Projects :: Star Wars Battlefront Legacy

Re: [Tool] Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby ggctuk » Sun Jan 08, 2017 3:11 pm

Anakin wrote:great :D

can you tell me what assets do not work?? For me everything works.
Transparency will be added once i got the light working :runaway:


At the moment, it only fails to display the RT-97C in Sereja's asset packs. It says there are 0 triangles in the options.

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:02 am
Location: 6 planet of the Hoth system
Projects :: Designated Days Chapter 1
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 Mortal Komabt
xbox live or psn: icemember x

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby icemember » Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:59 pm

I got this when running it even with the qwindows.dll in same folder.

Image

I use winXP for modding SWBF2

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0.1

Postby Anakin » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:48 am

Go and get Windows 10 :x

or redownload and test the xp support ; )


==EDIT==

@ggctuk: the file is corrupted. It says MYTP instead of MTYP to indicate the Model Type. So the actual model type is never analysed and so from default 0 and so it's always ignored at the mesh indices (as i remember now i can ignore the vertices, too :D that will increase the import performance)

1st Lieutenant
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:08 pm

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0.1

Postby BF2-Master » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:56 am

Keeps asking for VCRUNTIME140.dll for me. No dice. Using Win10 with qtwindow.dll fix.

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0.1

Postby Anakin » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:07 am

please install the VS runtime components: https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/downloa ... x?id=48145

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3450
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0

Postby AceMastermind » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:47 am

icemember wrote:I use winXP for modding SWBF2

Me too, I use Windows XP Pro SP3 but it seems to be working here though.

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0.1

Postby Anakin » Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:05 pm

V1.0.1 doesn't work either?? I compiled with Win XP support

an other reason could be that your firewall things it's a virus and so it makes it unusable for Win. That causes the same message.

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3450
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0.1

Postby AceMastermind » Mon Jan 09, 2017 1:50 pm

I guess you misunderstood what I said, it works on my machine. :)

EDIT
I also see you edited the first post after Icemember reported that error, so I guess I am using the fixed version. :mrgreen:

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Mos Espa (germany)
Projects :: Republic Commando Side Mod

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0.1

Postby Anakin » Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:32 pm

yeah i fixed it. So it seams the fix works

1st Lieutenant
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:08 pm

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0.1

Postby BF2-Master » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:19 pm

Anakin wrote:please install the VS runtime components: https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/downloa ... x?id=48145

Tried it. Was told I was running a newer version.

Corporal
User avatar
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:20 am
Location: Dantooine
Projects :: -Secret-
Games I'm Playing :: SBF2 - Empire at War
xbox live or psn: Captain CT108

Re: Mesh Viewer V1.0.1

Postby CT108 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:12 am

I've downloaded the VS runtime conponents and I've installed them, but I have the same error. I will look my firewall to see if it blocks the mesh viewer.

Next

Return to Released Assets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests