Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Discuss all things Crysis, including the new "Day In The Life" Star Wars mod

Moderator: Moderators

Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar
Posts: 543
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:16 pm
Location: Battling the ISA menace on Helghan.

Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby tsurugi13 » Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:35 pm

I found a youtube vid on how to do this, but I can't find it now. :cpu: In Crysis, you can't use the very high settings on dx9, regardless of how good your PC is. HOWEVER. There is a very quick and simple way to beat the system. Simply navigate to your crysis folder, usually C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\ or something like that, then go to /game/Config/CVargroups. There should be a bunch of .cfg files there that can be opened with notepad. BACK THESE UP. all of them. Srsly. Once you have backed them up, open one up. In them there should be something that looks like this:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Code: Select all
[default]
; default of this CVarGroup
= 4

sys_spec_ObjectDetail=4
sys_spec_Shading=4
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=4
sys_spec_Shadows=4
sys_spec_Texture=4
sys_spec_Physics=4
sys_spec_PostProcessing=4
sys_spec_Particles=4
sys_spec_Sound=4
sys_spec_Water=4
sys_spec_GameEffects=4

[1]
sys_spec_ObjectDetail=1
sys_spec_Shading=1
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=1
sys_spec_Shadows=1
sys_spec_Texture=1
sys_spec_Physics=1
sys_spec_PostProcessing=1
sys_spec_Particles=1
sys_spec_Sound=1
sys_spec_Water=1
sys_spec_GameEffects=1

[2]
sys_spec_ObjectDetail=2
sys_spec_Shading=2
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=2
sys_spec_Shadows=2
sys_spec_Texture=2
sys_spec_Physics=2
sys_spec_PostProcessing=2
sys_spec_Particles=2
sys_spec_Sound=2
sys_spec_Water=2
sys_spec_GameEffects=2

[3]
sys_spec_ObjectDetail=3
sys_spec_Shading=3
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=3
sys_spec_Shadows=3
sys_spec_Texture=3
sys_spec_Physics=3
sys_spec_PostProcessing=3
sys_spec_Particles=3
sys_spec_Sound=3
sys_spec_Water=3
sys_spec_GameEffects=3


These are the graphics specs. 4=very high, 3=high, 2=medium, 1=low. To enable very high settings, all you have to do is copy everything under the number 4, i.e.
Code: Select all
sys_spec_ObjectDetail=4
sys_spec_Shading=4
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=4
sys_spec_Shadows=4
sys_spec_Texture=4
sys_spec_Physics=4
sys_spec_PostProcessing=4
sys_spec_Particles=4
sys_spec_Sound=4
sys_spec_Water=4
sys_spec_GameEffects=4

For instance, and paste it over the code for three, so that you end up with:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Code: Select all
[default]
; default of this CVarGroup
= 4

sys_spec_ObjectDetail=4
sys_spec_Shading=4
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=4
sys_spec_Shadows=4
sys_spec_Texture=4
sys_spec_Physics=4
sys_spec_PostProcessing=4
sys_spec_Particles=4
sys_spec_Sound=4
sys_spec_Water=4
sys_spec_GameEffects=4

[1]
sys_spec_ObjectDetail=1
sys_spec_Shading=1
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=1
sys_spec_Shadows=1
sys_spec_Texture=1
sys_spec_Physics=1
sys_spec_PostProcessing=1
sys_spec_Particles=1
sys_spec_Sound=1
sys_spec_Water=1
sys_spec_GameEffects=1

[2]
sys_spec_ObjectDetail=2
sys_spec_Shading=2
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=2
sys_spec_Shadows=2
sys_spec_Texture=2
sys_spec_Physics=2
sys_spec_PostProcessing=2
sys_spec_Particles=2
sys_spec_Sound=2
sys_spec_Water=2
sys_spec_GameEffects=2

[3]
sys_spec_ObjectDetail=4
sys_spec_Shading=4
sys_spec_VolumetricEffects=4
sys_spec_Shadows=4
sys_spec_Texture=4
sys_spec_Physics=4
sys_spec_PostProcessing=4
sys_spec_Particles=4
sys_spec_Sound=4
sys_spec_Water=4
sys_spec_GameEffects=4


Repeat with all of the .cfg files and viola. You've just tricked Crysis into thinking high is very high.

Note: this does not unlock very high in the graphics settings menu. All it does is make high use Very high settings. You'll see this in the shafts of light coming through trees, the dynamically rendered ocean surface, and a bunch of other stuff. Good luck! :mrgreen:

Private First Class
User avatar
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:44 am

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby GMan » Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:13 pm

Thats a good tut,well writen but the results arent DirectX 10 like.I've followed this tut a couple of times and its giving quite an graphics improvements but slows the game down a bit from the High option with 1-2 FPS on my system.Anyway 4.9/5 :thumbs:

Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar
Posts: 543
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:16 pm
Location: Battling the ISA menace on Helghan.

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby tsurugi13 » Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:07 pm

GMan wrote:Thats a good tut,well writen but the results arent DirectX 10 like.I've followed this tut a couple of times and its giving quite an graphics improvements but slows the game down a bit from the High option with 1-2 FPS on my system.Anyway 4.9/5 :thumbs:

Oddly enough, I got a bit of a performance hike. I went up a few fps. Somewhere in there are two text docs that list most major graphics cards with the same 1-4 based on how well they handle the game. Mine's a 3. :D

Private First Class
User avatar
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:44 am

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby GMan » Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:19 am

Whats your GPU?
Mine's Nvidia GeForce 8600GT with a homemade overclock 8)

Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar
Posts: 543
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:16 pm
Location: Battling the ISA menace on Helghan.

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby tsurugi13 » Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:50 am

GMan wrote:Whats your GPU?
Mine's Nvidia GeForce 8600GT with a homemade overclock 8)

GeForce 8800 GTS Alpha dog (means 640 instead of 512 mb onboard memory). My processor's a core 2 duo, so that helps.

Private First Class
User avatar
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:44 am

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby GMan » Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:01 pm

Mine GPU is 1gb DDR2,cpu-3.066 GHz[only a single core :( ],2 gigs of ram and XP pro.That means no Vista and no DX10.So i think that these are very usefull

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1263
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:24 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby AlexSecura » Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:33 pm

Extreme Quality
http://www.mycrysis.com/filebase.php?fileid=1905
Ultra High Quality
http://www.mycrysis.com/filebase.php?fileid=491
+
Ragdoll and Particle Mod
but dont find the Link on Cry Mod Anymore

I use since Ages these Mod from Crymod and it looks very well :-)
Also i tryed out a Natural Mod but didnt liked it that much.

@ Tsurugi:
You have the same GFX then me so you could use the Extreme Mod.
If you test it, tell me which one looks better.So i can switch to another Cfg.

@ G-Man:
Do you ever used a Quality Patch for Warhead?Im not sure about installing one because Warhead runs and looks very well at my Comp in Enthusiast Settings.So i thought theres no need to install a Mod.

GMan wrote:Thats a good tut,well writen but the results arent DirectX 10 like.I've followed this tut a couple of times and its giving quite an graphics improvements but slows the game down a bit from the High option with 1-2 FPS on my system.Anyway 4.9/5 :thumbs:


Most Quality CFG`s want a GF 8800 better GF8800GTS.
Whats your Framerate when using this Mod?

Private First Class
User avatar
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:44 am

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby GMan » Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:24 pm

@AlexSecura
15-20 FPS wich isnt that much,but its all that my machine can handle at the moment[because i'm planing to get a new motherboard and some new CPU]

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1263
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:24 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby AlexSecura » Sun Oct 26, 2008 8:20 am

Wah
15 Frames is unplayable,Mate.You should really turn down some Settings like Post Processing or Object Detail.

Private First Class
User avatar
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:44 am

Re: Enabling very high settings on windows XP.

Postby GMan » Sun Oct 26, 2008 11:31 am

@Alex I know dude thats why i'm playing on everithing exept sound on low :(

Return to Crysis - Discussion & Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest