The DMI Showcase Thread

For discussion, WIPs, and downloads of the DMI (Dynamic Map Idea)

Moderator: Moderators

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

The DMI Showcase Thread

Postby RepSharpshooter » Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:27 am

Working on a model? Show it here!

Hidden/Spoiler:
New Sky:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
Location:
Games I'm Playing :: sticking to rct3
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:07 am

Skies are .msh files, right? For the sky, couldn't you have someone with the full exporter apply render scroll to it, for realism, or does mshex work with Edit Flags?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby RepSharpshooter » Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:36 am

No I haven't done anything with flags, I'm not even sure they go with the crosswalk either. But it's easy enough to hex a render scroll.

Wouldn't the whole sky just spin aronund then anyways :runaway: If we want it more realistic, then we need some sort of cloud effect that moves in the sky.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
Location:
Games I'm Playing :: sticking to rct3
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:47 am

You can choose the height of Skydome models, right? 'Cuz then you can just make a few different cloud models, raise them, and animate them in ZE. Also, in ZE, is it possible to make barriers that dissappear after a set amount of time, and come back after the same amount of time? I have a model of a crosswalk sign, so it might be useful.
Here it is: frames of model's animations 1-499:
Image
frames 500-1000:
Image
Please tell me it doesn't only need 24 frames.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby FragMe! » Thu Jun 26, 2008 1:03 pm

Okay then how about a scrolling texture and no animation. Not sure how you made the holes for the walk/don't walk things.
But you could put a small grid mesh behind them and then the texture behind them could be as simple as stripes of:
Green Black
Black Red
Speed of scroll would determine how long the light was one. You could also duplicate the model and just invert the texture so you can have
the opposite light going the other way at an intersection.

There would be a transition time when they would both be on or scrolling past. But that is just a suggestion
Looks cool though.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
Location:
Games I'm Playing :: sticking to rct3
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:39 pm

The "holes" are really just some sphere's that sink back after oh-so-many frames.

Sith Lord
User avatar
Posts: 1779
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: Building a railway to Coruscant

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby trainmaster611 » Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:39 pm

This is the subway station. I found a really big train station (that was quite a mess) that I used as a template. I've almost completely redone everything. I'd say the model is like 85% mine. So yes, you could say I'm very proud :D


Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image




Obviously, the texturing needs to be varied up a bit. Is there a way to assign textures per poly (or selected polies)? :|

I still need to apply a terrain cutter also.

And I want the lip of the ramp to be exactly on the terrain. Does anyone know how the 'ground object' feature knows where exactly to place the object?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby FragMe! » Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:15 pm

Looks good train.

As for how does it ground, by the dummyroot, so if you wanted the lip of the ramp at ground level you would shift everything down in XSI until the lip was at the dummyroot

Sith Lord
User avatar
Posts: 1779
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: Building a railway to Coruscant

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby trainmaster611 » Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:54 pm

It just needs the same y axis value though right?

Here's the new pic. I'm applying the textures but some of the polys make it look stretchy and I'm struggling with them. Also, do the textures make it look a little cluttered?

Image

I've looked at funnyfarm.tv and turboquid, but I'm looking for some good generic metalish and concretish futuristic looking textures. Any suggestions.

General
User avatar
Posts: 784
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: happy fun island

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Syth » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:15 am

Image

the blue transparent, the top is an arena where turrets will fire remote Jedi for enclosed battle

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: Building a legion of papercraft models.
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Challenger33 » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:34 am

I posted this in the Model Showcase thread as well, but:

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


Like I said, it's up to you as to what to use it for, Rep.

2nd Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Location Location.

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r » Fri Jun 27, 2008 8:25 am

OK heres my model un textured. Its not that detailed or anything yet but im pretty please with it so far :D
Image
Its got a inside with some stair and stuff btw.

EDIT:
Image There models done.
Its pretty basic but should look good.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
Location:
Games I'm Playing :: sticking to rct3
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:55 am

Why not, in the middle of the city, put a giant Jawa statue? I has it, right here (outdatt...minute'd):
Image
Now it's completed, has an interior that's just an empty room so far, I'll change that soon in an update of it (Small gift shop, little jawa toys, yay!) I use Edit Flags so his eyes will glow very intensely ingame, stairs to the top on the back.

2008 Most Original Avatar
User avatar
Posts: 3101
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: X-Fire: caleb1117 ಠ_ಠ
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Caleb1117 » Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:51 pm

trainmaster611 wrote:It just needs the same y axis value though right?

Here's the new pic. I'm applying the textures but some of the polys make it look stretchy and I'm struggling with them. Also, do the textures make it look a little cluttered?

Image

I've looked at funnyfarm.tv and turboquid, but I'm looking for some good generic metalish and concretish futuristic looking textures. Any suggestions.


No, not at all, it looks better that way.
If you talk to me on Xfire, I can get you a bunch of suitable textures.

Syth wrote:Image

the blue transparent, the top is an arena where turrets will fire remote Jedi for enclosed battle


Woah, looks really cool, is that your first building model?

2nd Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Location Location.

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:39 pm

LOL fluffy! Looks brilliant and for a massive 'map' (If you can still call it that) I think it be great to have that! Lol scale it up loads and put in centre of city and itd rock.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3400
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:25 am

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Dohnutt » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:42 pm

Honestly guys, this looks AMAZING.
I would try to help out but I'm a failure with SWBF2 modding.
I definitely don't have the patience for it.
I'm so jacked for this you guys have no idea.
I mean, I've said in the past that I'll prolly reinstall SWBF2 for a certain mod or something, but this, wow.
This is a definite reinstall.

Sith Lord
User avatar
Posts: 1779
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: Building a railway to Coruscant

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby trainmaster611 » Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:37 pm

Now in other news, I've finished applying textures to the model. The only problem is that the texture map is such a hell of a mess (since different clusters share edges and points). If you fix one thing, it messes another thing up. So everything looks all stretchy. Could someone help me out? :lol:

Image

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2767
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Alderaan
Projects :: Battlefront Zero for life..
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby MandeRek » Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:32 pm

OMG! Train, that's too awesome!! Wow man! You can be proud of yourself! :D

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
Location:
Games I'm Playing :: sticking to rct3
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:52 pm

Dang, my model crashes my test map. And, there's no model whatsoevur.

Sith Lord
User avatar
Posts: 1779
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: Building a railway to Coruscant

Re: The Showcase Thead

Postby trainmaster611 » Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:43 pm

MandeRek wrote:OMG! Train, that's too awesome!! Wow man! You can be proud of yourself! :D


Thanks man! :D

@fluffy: if you're using reps meshex, make sure you follow his exporting rules. How big is your msh file?

Also, I made a tunnel based off of the dimensions of the station

Image

Again, I'm having trouble with the texture map making it looks stretchy. Also, how do I turn the model inside out so the building faces inwards.

Next

Return to The Dynamic Project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests