The New DMI Plan - ***DEADLINE JULY 30th***

For discussion, WIPs, and downloads of the DMI (Dynamic Map Idea)

Moderator: Moderators

Master Bounty Hunter
User avatar
Posts: 1692
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm
Location: Twello, The Netherlands

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby mswf » Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:43 am

I agree with your theory, but I think the only possible way to find out how online gamers will react to something like this, is to see it for yourself. There is no possible way to predict what will happen in an online city, where you can kill everybody, but with law enforcers. I think the best thing is to wait what the outcome is of the first version, and only start utilizing complicated scripts after that.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby RepSharpshooter » Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:17 pm

mswf wrote:I think the best thing is to wait what the outcome is of the first version, and only start utilizing complicated scripts after that.


yep as I said:
RepSharpshooter wrote:One of the best things to do is probably just beta test this September and see what needs to be done. We can only predict so much in advance without actually knowing.

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby General_Nate » Sat Aug 15, 2009 11:45 am

Hey, can we add teleporters to other parts of the city? Like the outskirts, the bar, etc.?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby RepSharpshooter » Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:58 pm

That is what the multitude of vehicles is for.

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby General_Nate » Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:12 pm

Well, yeah, but I was just wondering.

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby Frisbeetarian » Tue Aug 18, 2009 5:10 pm

RepSharpshooter wrote:Mav used landing regions in the first rendition of his lot, but I don't think they are in the second. It is a hassle to put a region every single place you can land in the entire world, so I'm leaning towards not having them.

Sorry I didn't think about this earlier, but landing regions shouldn't be necessary if we just put DenyFlyerLand = "1" in all ODFs that need it.

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby General_Nate » Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:14 am

Ok, this will probably make me come across like a noob, but here I go... :|

Ok so I've finally gotten my building in-game and working, so I decided to put it in-game in the DMI template for Beta purposes. But when I go to the map select screen after munging, the map name is something like: DMI%s%s. And trust me, I have the 1.1 patch. But when I try to run the map, it crashes with the all loved "fatal" error. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong with the munging process...

Ok, so here is what I did:

I made a new map, and called in DMI with it's only mode being hero assult.
Then I put the newly created map in the worlds and common folders of the templet map rep provided.
Then I opened DMI.wrl in ZE, placed my objects, etc. in my own layer called General_Nate.
Next, I munged my world using the munger in the Data_DMI in the worlds folder.
And then all of that up there happened.
Can someone help me?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby RepSharpshooter » Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:05 pm

General_Nate wrote:Then I put the newly created map in the worlds and common folders of the templet map rep provided

What does that mean? You do not put the map into my template, you put my template into the new map.

What to do after downloading:

1. Make a new world with the modtools (run from start menu), called DMI, with it's only mode being Hero Assault.
2. Paste in the World and Common folders from the file you downloaded.

2008 Most Technically Challenging Avatar
User avatar
Posts: 2376
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:46 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: League of Legends
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby obiboba3po » Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:13 pm

Is it possible that i could turn in a beta of my lot a bit late as i basically need to create it from scratch because of my failed hard drive?

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby General_Nate » Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:00 pm

RepSharpshooter wrote:1. Make a new world with the modtools (run from start menu), called DMI, with it's only mode being Hero Assault.
2. Paste in the World and Common folders from the file you downloaded.


Ah, you said to make a new world, and the next step I thought you meant to paste the newly created world in the template. Ok, thanks Rep, that cleared everything up.

Imperial Systems Expert
User avatar
Posts: 2493
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:15 pm
Projects :: A secret project
Games I'm Playing :: Warframe STO

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby kinetosimpetus » Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:24 am

@Rep, sent you a PM with 2 links, one to the second beta, in case you didn't DL it yet, and one to a msh that I may have forgotten to include in the other zip.

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby General_Nate » Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:57 pm

*Sigh* Well I have yet another problem. When ever I make any changes to anything in ZE, close it and open it back up again, the original changes are still there. I don't know if this has anything to do with when I updated the req file, or what. But if I can't get it to work by this Saturday, would you be willing to hold my spot until then?

EDIT: Never mind. I scrapped my old lot and whipped up a new one. It has been sent to you via PM. :wink:

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1223
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:05 pm

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby Null_1138 » Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:00 pm

Wow, this just occurred to me, but where will we spawn?

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:31 am
Location: Owning people in SWBF2

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby Par3210 » Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:23 am

perhaps there will be spawns all around the city where you can choose :wink:

Sergeant Major
User avatar
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: In your ear, pretending to be that voice in your head you call your "concience".

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby Master of Stickmen » Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:32 pm

yeah, do we have to put cps in the lots, cause i might make one......

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby RepSharpshooter » Sat Sep 05, 2009 11:50 pm

Don't ad cps, use the ones already in it.

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby General_Nate » Sun Sep 06, 2009 10:21 am

Wait, so we can move those cps laying around into our lots? Did I hear that right?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 4861
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA
Projects :: Republic Commando - Battlefront

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby AQT » Sun Sep 06, 2009 5:13 pm

I'm sure Rep will set up where the CPs and spawn paths will go in the end product, so for testing purposes, don't move any of the CPs and spawn path, choose a CP to spawn at, and then just take a walk over to your lot. Because if every lot were to have its own CP and considering how many lots there are, that would definately exceed the CP limit and that would be ridiculous anyway.

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby General_Nate » Sun Sep 06, 2009 5:20 pm

Ah, I miss understood. That would be absurd.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: The New DMI Plan

Postby RepSharpshooter » Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:34 pm

No I have not forgotten about this, I am just encountering one of the largest school workloads I have ever had. I will try to finish it up over the period of some school break, maybe winter break if need be. I simply do not have the time like I used to.

PreviousNext

Return to The Dynamic Project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest