New DMI Policy

For discussion, WIPs, and downloads of the DMI (Dynamic Map Idea)

Moderator: Moderators

High General
User avatar
Posts: 835
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:21 am
Location: In the white van with tinted windows.
Projects :: No Mod project currently.

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby Darth_Squoobus » Fri Sep 18, 2009 11:26 pm

Is lot B2 open? I'm working on headquarters for a big corporation there.

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2786
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:46 pm

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby Xavious » Mon Sep 21, 2009 4:34 pm

There isn't a lot claim system anymore. Your lot goes wherever there's an open spot.

RepSharpshooter wrote:As I mentioned before, "Here's how it'd work: you fill a 60m x 60m space full of objects. Get it ingame and working etc. Send it to me, and I can move it to wherever it fits in the city. That way there's no need for complicated claims. For those of you interested in a DMI lot, just continue modeling/working on it. Send it to me whenever you are done and I will place it in the world. After September 5th I will just free up unused claims and make it a free-for-all."

Rebel Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 304
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:36 am
Location: Where I whant to be.

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby swado95 » Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:20 pm

Is this project still going? And is there any more available space?

well there still might not be space.... Im not claiming im seeing if there is anymore room in the map...

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby RepSharpshooter » Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:02 am

Yes and Yes. There's plenty of empty space.

General
User avatar
Posts: 799
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 6:26 pm
Location: Far Far away....
Projects :: Halo Warthog vehicle for SWBF2
Games I'm Playing :: Bioware RPGs - Halo
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby computergeek » Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:53 pm

Hey, Rep, I'm going to start on a lot now, and I'll try to have it done by New Years. I just wanted to let you know that you have one coming.
By the way, our lot can be based on something (like Halo), as long as we make the models ourselves, right?

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby General_Nate » Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:05 pm

Hey rep!
Rep wrote:Terrain or world modifications will not be implemented

I was wondering if we could change the ground texture in our lot. Would that count as "Terrain modifications"?

BTW, mine should be done by late December or early January.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby RepSharpshooter » Thu Dec 24, 2009 3:16 pm

computergeek wrote:Hey, Rep, I'm going to start on a lot now, and I'll try to have it done by New Years. I just wanted to let you know that you have one coming.
By the way, our lot can be based on something (like Halo), as long as we make the models ourselves, right?

Yes, no porting from other games.

General_Nate wrote:I was wondering if we could change the ground texture in our lot. Would that count as "Terrain modifications"?


Terrain modifications such as height and texture are not included in layer files, so in general they will not be implemented. However, let me know if such properties are essential to your lot, (and give me a detailed description) and I can put them in for you.

Imperial Systems Expert
User avatar
Posts: 2493
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:15 pm
Projects :: A secret project
Games I'm Playing :: Warframe STO

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby kinetosimpetus » Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:31 pm

Flat terrain is fine on mine, but it cant have foliage.

General
User avatar
Posts: 794
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Zebra
Projects :: Something big. And exciting.
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefield 3
xbox live or psn: masowner66

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby sampip » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:26 am

This might like a stupid question but-
All models have to be custom, right?

Master of the Force
User avatar
Posts: 6069
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Duckburg, Germany

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby DarthD.U.C.K. » Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:16 am

RepSharpshooter wrote:Submission Requirements
  • Must be at most 60m x 60m at ALL heights.
  • Must have no more than 25 objects
  • Files submitted must have unique names (objects, msh's, tgas)
  • Submission must only include your files, not the files from the dmi template
  • Objects must be in a unique layer only
  • Terrain or world modifications will not be implemented
  • LUA code amendments are fine, but clearly label the changes you made
  • Vehicles are fine, but make a unique side that contains them
  • For my sake, please name your submission "DMI_(yournamehere)" if I have 20 dmi.zip's I can't figure out who is who.
  • Requirements are subject to change, please check before you submit.


is it on the list? if not then its not required

General
User avatar
Posts: 794
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Zebra
Projects :: Something big. And exciting.
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefield 3
xbox live or psn: masowner66

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby sampip » Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:38 am

Thanks and stupid me *headdesk*

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby General_Nate » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:41 pm

Um, are you still expecting lot submissions?

My lot, I just found out, you can't even walk in the front door. There is an invisible wall.
I'm working on my new lot, but I was wondering if you were sill taking them. I hope you are! My lot should be done by the end of the month, or early next month.

Thanks.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby FragMe! » Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:32 am

Not speaking for Rep but this is still a WIP with no firm completion date as of yet so you can still work on your submission. As for your problem try making a .option file for your msh and put this line in it -donotmergecollision

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby General_Nate » Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:53 pm

Hmm, thanks.

I still would appreciate it if someone could post a deadline. I want to put a BUNCH of stuff in my lot, but I'm not sure if I have the time to do so. :?

EDIT: Wow, I'm double posting, and bumping a topic at the same time! :o But you all know, if I edited, no one would know if I posted or not, and you can't actually bump a sticky.

RepSharpShooter wrote:I plan on adding the rest of the lots, adding in Mav's sides, adding some Urban Map stock buildings, then calling it quits. I just don't have the time/energy to do much else with it.

:runaway: That scares me. Are you going to post a warning before you do, so I can send my semi finished lot to you? Thanks!

You're welcome, -Staff

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1066
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 12:32 am

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby genaral_mitch » Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:56 pm

Instead of double posting, you can copy the first post, delete it, then paste it in the new post and write more.

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby General_Nate » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:34 pm

Your right! But for some reason, I can't delete it now.

Master Bounty Hunter
User avatar
Posts: 1692
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm
Location: Twello, The Netherlands

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby mswf » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:36 pm

That's because someone replied to it.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 835
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:21 am
Location: In the white van with tinted windows.
Projects :: No Mod project currently.

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby Darth_Squoobus » Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:06 pm

What do I have to do to get real estate outside the city?

Lieutenant General
User avatar
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Projects :: None because BFII is not working
Games I'm Playing :: Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby General_Nate » Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:24 pm

http://www.gametoast.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=70&t=14529&hilit=houses

I think that's as close as it gets to your question.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7391
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: New DMI Policy

Postby Maveritchell » Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:26 pm

General_Nate wrote:http://www.gametoast.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=70&t=14529&hilit=houses

I think that's as close as it gets to your question.

And that was two years ago. The rules are (as quoted above):
Must be at most 60m x 60m at ALL heights.

He doesn't make any extra stipulations like "...but you can go somewhere else if you really need it," or "...if your lot is really cool you can put it wherever."

PreviousNext

Return to The Dynamic Project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest