Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Discussion, progress updates, and downloads for the Dark Times and Rising Son mods.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
MrCrayon
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:15 pm
Projects :: Coruscant map Want to help PM me
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 3
Location: Buried in homework, but getting better

Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by MrCrayon »

Ok. When I access the instant action menu, the icon is there and everything, but I can't even select it. Maybe somebody can see what I am doing wrong here. I am trying to add the dark times as a conquest option only, by the way!

here is the 'addme.lua'
Hidden/Spoiler:
--Search through the missionlist to find a map that matches mapName,
--then insert the new flags into said entry.
--Use this when you know the map already exists, but this content patch is just
--adding new gamemodes (otherwise you should just add whole new entries to the missionlist)
function AddNewGameModes(missionList, mapName, newFlags)
for i, mission in missionList do
if mission.mapluafile == mapName then
for flag, value in pairs(newFlags) do
mission[flag] = value
end
end
end
end


ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\BDT\\data\\_LVL_PC\\dtshell.lvl")

--insert totally new maps here:
local sp_n = 0
local mp_n = 0
sp_n = table.getn(sp_missionselect_listbox_contents)

sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1] = { isModLevel = 1, mapluafile = "AWE%s_%s", era_g = 1, era_c = 1, mode_con_g = 1, mode_con_c = 1, era_1 = 1, change = {
era_1 = { name="Dark Times", icon2="darktimes_icon" },
},}
mp_n = table.getn(mp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
mp_missionselect_listbox_contents[mp_n+1] = sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1]

-- associate this mission name with the current downloadable content directory
-- (this tells the engine which maps are downloaded, so you need to include all new mission lua's here)
-- first arg: mapluafile from above
-- second arg: mission script name
-- third arg: level memory modifier. the arg to LuaScript.cpp: DEFAULT_MODEL_MEMORY_PLUS(x)

AddDownloadableContent("AWE","AWEg_con",4)
AddDownloadableContent("AWE","AWEc_con",4)


-- all done
newEntry = nil
n = nil

-- Now load our core.lvl into the shell to add our localize keys
ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\AWE\\data\\_LVL_PC\\core.lvl")
and here is 'AWE1_con.lua'
Hidden/Spoiler:
-- load the gametype script
ScriptCB_DoFile("ObjectiveConquest")
ScriptCB_DoFile("setup_teams")
ScriptCB_DoFile("TFURandom")
ScriptCB_DoFile("AIHeroSupport")

-- Empire Attacking (attacker is always #1)
ALL = 1
IMP = 2
-- These variables do not change
ATT = 1
DEF = 2
ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\BDT\\data\\_LVL_PC\\core.lvl")

--This defines the CPs. These need to happen first
cp1 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp1"}
cp2 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp2"}
cp3 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp3"}
cp4 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp4"}
cp5 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp5"}
cp6 = CommandPost:New{name = "cp6"}

--This sets up the actual objective. This needs to happen after cp's are defined
conquest = ObjectiveConquest:New{teamATT = ATT, teamDEF = DEF,
textATT = "game.modes.con",
textDEF = "game.modes.con2",
multiplayerRules = true}

--This adds the CPs to the objective. This needs to happen after the objective is set up
conquest:AddCommandPost(cp1)
conquest:AddCommandPost(cp2)
conquest:AddCommandPost(cp3)
conquest:AddCommandPost(cp4)
conquest:AddCommandPost(cp5)
conquest:AddCommandPost(cp6)
conquest:Start()

EnableSPHeroRules()

end


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- FUNCTION: ScriptInit
-- PURPOSE: This function is only run once
-- INPUT:
-- OUTPUT:
-- NOTES: The name, 'ScriptInit' is a chosen convention, and each
-- mission script must contain a version of this function, as
-- it is called from C to start the mission.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

function ScriptInit()

ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\BDT\\data\\_LVL_PC\\ingame.lvl")
ReadDataFile("ingame.lvl")

if not ScriptCB_InMultiplayer() then
DecideUnits(1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1)
elseif ScriptCB_InMultiplayer() then
herostrAll = "all_hero_marek"
supportstrAll = "all_inf_elite"
herostrEmp = "imp_hero_shadowguard"
supportstrEmp = "imp_inf_shadowtrooper"
end

SetMaxFlyHeight(40)
SetMaxPlayerFlyHeight(40)


SetMemoryPoolSize ("ClothData",40)
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo",170) -- should be ~ 2x number of jedi classes
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::State",1850) -- should be ~12x #Combo
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::Transition",1850) -- should be a bit bigger than #Combo::State
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::Condition",1850) -- should be a bit bigger than #Combo::State
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::Attack",1750) -- should be ~8-12x #Combo
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::DamageSample",14000) -- should be ~8-12x #Combo::Attack
SetMemoryPoolSize ("Combo::Deflect",1140) -- should be ~1x #combo -- should be ~1x #combo

ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\BDT\\data\\_LVL_PC\\SIDE\\lead.lvl",
herostrAll,
herostrEmp)
ReadDataFile("sound\\tat.lvl;tat2gcw")
ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\BDT\\data\\_LVL_PC\\sound\\tes.lvl;tescw")
ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\BDT\\data\\_LVL_PC\\SIDE\\dark.lvl",
"all_hero_bail",
"all_inf_soldier",
"all_inf_heavy",
"all_inf_marksman",
"all_inf_moncaleng",
"all_inf_durosmerc",
"all_inf_bothan",
"imp_inf_soldier",
"imp_inf_marksman",
"imp_inf_heavy",
"imp_inf_gunner",
"imp_inf_heavymelee",
"imp_inf_commando",
"imp_inf_jumptrooper",
supportstrAll,
supportstrEmp)

ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\BDT\\data\\_LVL_PC\\SIDE\\lead.lvl",
herostrAll,
herostrEmp)

ReadDataFile("SIDE\\tur.lvl",
"tur_bldg_tat_barge",
"tur_bldg_laser")

SetupTeams{
all = {
team = ALL,
units = 20,
reinforcements = 150,
soldier = { "all_inf_soldier",9, 25},
assault = { "all_inf_heavy",1,4},
engineer = { "all_inf_moncaleng",1,4},
sniper = { "all_inf_marksman",1,4},
officer = { "all_inf_durosmerc",1,4},
special = { "all_inf_bothan",1,4},

},
imp = {
team = IMP,
units = 20,
reinforcements = 150,
soldier = { "imp_inf_soldier",9, 25},
assault = { "imp_inf_heavy",1,4},
engineer = { "imp_inf_gunner",1,4},
sniper = { "imp_inf_marksman",1,4},
officer = { "imp_inf_heavymelee",1,4},
special = { "imp_inf_jumptrooper",1,4},
},

}



AddUnitClass(IMP, supportstrEmp, 1, 4)
AddUnitClass(ALL, supportstrAll, 1, 4)

if ScriptCB_InMultiplayer() then
SetHeroClass(ALL, herostrAll)
SetHeroClass(IMP, herostrEmp)
else
end
all = {
team = ALL,
units = 40,
reinforcements = 300,
soldier = { "all_inf_rifleman",9, 25},
assault = { "all_inf_rocketeer",1,4},
engineer = { "all_inf_engineer",1,4},
sniper = { "all_inf_sniper",1,4},
officer = { "all_inf_officer",1,4},
special = { "all_inf_wookiee",1,4},

},
imp = {
team = IMP,
units = 50,
reinforcements = 250,
soldier = { "imp_inf_rifleman",9, 25},
assault = { "imp_inf_rocketeer",1,4},
engineer = { "imp_inf_engineer",1,4},
sniper = { "imp_inf_sniper",1,4},
officer = { "imp_inf_officer",1,4},
special = { "imp_inf_dark_trooper",1,4},
},
}

SetHeroClass(ALL, "all_hero_hansolo_tat")
SetHeroClass(IMP, "imp_hero_bobafett")

-- Level Stats
ClearWalkers()
AddWalkerType(0, 0) -- special -> droidekas
AddWalkerType(1, 0) -- 1x2 (1 pair of legs)
AddWalkerType(2, 0) -- 2x2 (2 pairs of legs)
AddWalkerType(3, 0) -- 3x2 (3 pairs of legs)

local weaponCnt = 1024
SetMemoryPoolSize("Aimer", 75)
SetMemoryPoolSize("AmmoCounter", weaponCnt)
SetMemoryPoolSize("BaseHint", 1024)
SetMemoryPoolSize("EnergyBar", weaponCnt)
SetMemoryPoolSize("EntityCloth", 32)
SetMemoryPoolSize("EntityFlyer", 32)
SetMemoryPoolSize("EntityHover", 32)
SetMemoryPoolSize("EntityLight", 200)
SetMemoryPoolSize("EntitySoundStream", 4)
SetMemoryPoolSize("EntitySoundStatic", 32)
SetMemoryPoolSize("MountedTurret", 32)
SetMemoryPoolSize("Navigator", 128)
SetMemoryPoolSize("Obstacle", 1024)
SetMemoryPoolSize("PathNode", 1024)
SetMemoryPoolSize("SoundSpaceRegion", 64)
SetMemoryPoolSize("TreeGridStack", 1024)
SetMemoryPoolSize("UnitAgent", 128)
SetMemoryPoolSize("UnitController", 128)
SetMemoryPoolSize("Weapon", weaponCnt)

SetSpawnDelay(10.0, 0.25)
ReadDataFile("dc:AWE\\AWE.lvl", "AWE_conquest")
SetDenseEnvironment("false")


-- Sound Stats
voiceSlow = OpenAudioStream("sound\\global.lvl", "all_unit_vo_slow")
AudioStreamAppendSegments("sound\\global.lvl", "imp_unit_vo_slow", voiceSlow)
AudioStreamAppendSegments("sound\\global.lvl", "des_unit_vo_slow", voiceSlow)
AudioStreamAppendSegments("sound\\global.lvl", "global_vo_slow", voiceSlow)

voiceQuick = OpenAudioStream("sound\\global.lvl", "all_unit_vo_quick")
AudioStreamAppendSegments("sound\\global.lvl", "imp_unit_vo_quick", voiceQuick)

OpenAudioStream("sound\\global.lvl", "gcw_music")
OpenAudioStream("sound\\tat.lvl", "tat2")
OpenAudioStream("sound\\tat.lvl", "tat2")
-- OpenAudioStream("sound\\global.lvl", "global_vo_quick")
-- OpenAudioStream("sound\\global.lvl", "global_vo_slow")

SetBleedingVoiceOver(ALL, ALL, "all_off_com_report_us_overwhelmed", 1)
SetBleedingVoiceOver(ALL, IMP, "all_off_com_report_enemy_losing", 1)
SetBleedingVoiceOver(IMP, ALL, "imp_off_com_report_enemy_losing", 1)
SetBleedingVoiceOver(IMP, IMP, "imp_off_com_report_us_overwhelmed", 1)

SetLowReinforcementsVoiceOver(ALL, ALL, "all_off_defeat_im", .1, 1)
SetLowReinforcementsVoiceOver(ALL, IMP, "all_off_victory_im", .1, 1)
SetLowReinforcementsVoiceOver(IMP, IMP, "imp_off_defeat_im", .1, 1)
SetLowReinforcementsVoiceOver(IMP, ALL, "imp_off_victory_im", .1, 1)

SetOutOfBoundsVoiceOver(2, "Allleaving")
SetOutOfBoundsVoiceOver(1, "Impleaving")

SetAmbientMusic(ALL, 1.0, "all_tat_amb_start", 0,1)
SetAmbientMusic(ALL, 0.8, "all_tat_amb_middle", 1,1)
SetAmbientMusic(ALL, 0.2, "all_tat_amb_end", 2,1)
SetAmbientMusic(IMP, 1.0, "imp_tat_amb_start", 0,1)
SetAmbientMusic(IMP, 0.8, "imp_tat_amb_middle", 1,1)
SetAmbientMusic(IMP, 0.2, "imp_tat_amb_end", 2,1)

SetVictoryMusic(ALL, "all_tat_amb_victory")
SetDefeatMusic (ALL, "all_tat_amb_defeat")
SetVictoryMusic(IMP, "imp_tat_amb_victory")
SetDefeatMusic (IMP, "imp_tat_amb_defeat")

SetSoundEffect("ScopeDisplayZoomIn", "binocularzoomin")
SetSoundEffect("ScopeDisplayZoomOut", "binocularzoomout")
--SetSoundEffect("WeaponUnableSelect", "com_weap_inf_weaponchange_null")
--SetSoundEffect("WeaponModeUnableSelect", "com_weap_inf_modechange_null")
SetSoundEffect("SpawnDisplayUnitChange", "shell_select_unit")
SetSoundEffect("SpawnDisplayUnitAccept", "shell_menu_enter")
SetSoundEffect("SpawnDisplaySpawnPointChange", "shell_select_change")
SetSoundEffect("SpawnDisplaySpawnPointAccept", "shell_menu_enter")
SetSoundEffect("SpawnDisplayBack", "shell_menu_exit")

-- Camera Stats
--Tat2 Mos Eisley
AddCameraShot(0.974338, -0.222180, 0.035172, 0.008020, -82.664650, 23.668301, 43.955681);
AddCameraShot(0.390197, -0.089729, -0.893040, -0.205362, 23.563562, 12.914885, -101.465561);
AddCameraShot(0.169759, 0.002225, -0.985398, 0.012916, 126.972809, 4.039628, -22.020613);
AddCameraShot(0.677453, -0.041535, 0.733016, 0.044942, 97.517807, 4.039628, 36.853477);
AddCameraShot(0.866029, -0.156506, 0.467299, 0.084449, 7.685640, 7.130688, -10.895234);
end
what is wrong with this picture?
User avatar
Maveritchell
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 7366
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by Maveritchell »

I don't know if you have also forgotten to make a AWE1_con.req file, but the visible problem here is that you did not add the mission to the addme.lua. You've told the game to make it selectable, but you will need to add it:

Code: Select all

AddDownloadableContent("AWE","AWEg_con",4)
AddDownloadableContent("AWE","AWEc_con",4)
AddDownloadableContent("AWE","AWE1_con",4)
Make sure that there exists a AWE1_con.req file, too.
MrCrayon
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:15 pm
Projects :: Coruscant map Want to help PM me
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 3
Location: Buried in homework, but getting better

Re: Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by MrCrayon »

funny thing. I just did that a second ago. But as for the AWE1_con.req, I'll check.

ok, I checked it just now. I have it. I might have an error in the code however...

here is my AWE1_con.req
Hidden/Spoiler:
ucft
{
REQN
{

"config"
"cor_movies"

}

REQN
{
"script"
"AWE1_con"
}
}
User avatar
Maveritchell
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 7366
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by Maveritchell »

You'll also need to add "mode_con_1 = 1" in to your listbox contents along with "mode_con_g = 1" and "mode_con_c = 1."
MrCrayon
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:15 pm
Projects :: Coruscant map Want to help PM me
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 3
Location: Buried in homework, but getting better

Re: Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by MrCrayon »

okay. NOW I can select it (thanks!), but now it says to me that it can't load AWE1_con.lvl
what is that all about?
User avatar
Maveritchell
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 7366
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by Maveritchell »

It sounds like you then probably didn't add "AWE1_con" to your mission.req. Please make sure to carefully read the "how to add Dark Times" tutorial.
MrCrayon
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:15 pm
Projects :: Coruscant map Want to help PM me
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 3
Location: Buried in homework, but getting better

Re: Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by MrCrayon »

ok. I checked my mission.req and it was good to go, so that is not the problem. I just checked again and the box said "cannot open 'AWE1_con.lvl'"

I think it isn't getting the lvl file from the BDT folder. If I move it to my AWE folder, will it work? Or do i do something else? Or have I messed the code? I have followed as closely to the instructions as I could, but your help is greatly appreciated. I am checking back and forth making sure I am doing it right. However, there is something I am not getting or just doing wrong...
User avatar
Maveritchell
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 7366
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by Maveritchell »

MrCrayon wrote:ok. I checked my mission.req and it was good to go, so that is not the problem. I just checked again and the box said "cannot open 'AWE1_con.lvl'"
That error will be caused by one of four things:
1) The script file doesn't exist
2) The .req file for that script doesn't exist/calls the wrong/missing script
3) The mission.req does not load that script .req file
4) You did not add the script with the AddDownloadableContent call in your addme.lua

You've said that all four are in working order, but one if them must not be. You need to check all of them again.
MrCrayon
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:15 pm
Projects :: Coruscant map Want to help PM me
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront 3
Location: Buried in homework, but getting better

Re: Assistance with adding the Dark Times

Post by MrCrayon »

ok. I am back. Thank you Mav for helping me. I just have one more question (for a week at least...)
could you please list all the files I need to create to add the dark times mod (just the names is fine)

I will figure it out from there! Thanks for your patience with my noob questions. I must say this is fun to learn!
Post Reply