Jagged Model after Export?

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Private
User avatar
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:02 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF3 Legacy
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Jagged Model after Export?

Postby angolandelegate » Sat Dec 22, 2018 12:08 pm

Hoping I can get some help with this one; first time I've ever encountered something like this.

I'm trying to use DarthVeritus' port of the Old Republic Soldier from KotOR, but I just wanted to tweak it a bit. After doing so, I ended up with a really weird export. Thinking it was something I did wrong, I tried just importing and reexporting the file, but I ended with the same result, just lacking the specular map this time.

What it should look like:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


What it ends up looking like:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Image


I have no idea what's causing this or why.
I did notice that the filesize of the imported and reexported msh is smaller
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


And the munge log seems to indicate that it has less vertices than it should.
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


XSI Import settings:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

XSI Export log:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

MSHExport
SetValue "MSHExport.path", "C:\Users\Augustus\Desktop\IdleMaster\swbf\MeshViewer_v1_2_0\Sidemod Work\assets\KOTORSourceFiles\Sides\all\msh\all_inf_soldier2.msh"
CGA_GetNodeVertexPositions "polymsh", True
CGA_GetNodeNormals "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeIndices "polymsh"
CGA_GetPolygonVerticesCount "polymsh"
ZET_GetUVs "polymsh", 0
' INFO : 21
CGA_GetWeightsZE "polymsh"
' INFO : 4704
' INFO : 4704
CGA_GetNodesPerPoint "polymsh"
ZET_GetPolyMaterialIndices "polymsh"
ZET_GetMaterialNames "polymsh"
ZET_GetWeights "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeVertexPositions "polymsh", True
CGA_GetNodeNormals "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeIndices "polymsh"
CGA_GetPolygonVerticesCount "polymsh"
ZET_GetPolyMaterialIndices "polymsh"
ZET_GetMaterialNames "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeVertexPositions "polymsh", True
CGA_GetNodeNormals "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeIndices "polymsh"
CGA_GetPolygonVerticesCount "polymsh"
ZET_GetPolyMaterialIndices "polymsh"
ZET_GetMaterialNames "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeVertexPositions "polymsh", True
CGA_GetNodeNormals "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeIndices "polymsh"
CGA_GetPolygonVerticesCount "polymsh"
ZET_GetPolyMaterialIndices "polymsh"
ZET_GetMaterialNames "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeVertexPositions "polymsh", True
CGA_GetNodeNormals "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeIndices "polymsh"
CGA_GetPolygonVerticesCount "polymsh"
ZET_GetUVs "polymsh", 0
' INFO : 23
CGA_GetWeightsZE "polymsh"
' INFO : 6615
' INFO : 6615
CGA_GetNodesPerPoint "polymsh"
ZET_GetPolyMaterialIndices "polymsh"
ZET_GetMaterialNames "polymsh"
ZET_GetWeights "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeVertexPositions "polymsh", True
CGA_GetNodeNormals "polymsh"
CGA_GetNodeIndices "polymsh"
CGA_GetPolygonVerticesCount "polymsh"
' INFO : 21
CGA_GetWeightsZE "polymsh"
' INFO : 1296
' INFO : 1296
CGA_GetNodesPerPoint "polymsh"
ZET_GetPolyMaterialIndices "polymsh"
ZET_GetMaterialNames "polymsh"
ZET_GetWeights "polymsh"


I should clarify this is just after importing DarthVeritus' functional model and exporting it without making any changes.

Should I uncheck triangulate in my import settings? Is there something I'm missing? Any help is appreciated!
Last edited by angolandelegate on Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Droid Pilot Assassin
User avatar
Posts: 2177
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:58 pm
Projects :: Star Wars Battlefront Legacy

Re: Jagged Model after Export?

Postby ggctuk » Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:53 pm

Looks like it's been enveloped but not weighted.

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests